May 31st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Matthew Whyte
Nickname – Whyte Lightning
Weight – 125 Pounds
Record – 0 wins 0 losses
Team – Full Power MMA

Where are you from ?
I am from Drogheda in County Louth.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training about a year now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA when I got bored with boxing because i was doing that 8 years and i was tired of doing the same routine everyday and I decided I wanted to try something new.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I got my nickname off my boxing coach because my last name was whyte and I was way to fast for my opponents.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?Well there was a boxing club around the corner from me when I was growing up and my mam sent me too it and from then on i loved it.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family and friends were all very supportive.

What is your current record ?
My current MMA record is 0-0-0 Akuma will be my first amateur mma fight.
I had a lot of teen MMA fights and lots off k1 fights.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike has to be my right hand just the speed and power of it.

Who is your biggest inspiration?
My coach Declan.

What team do you train with ?
Full Power MMA.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I would probably stay standing but my ground game is good as well.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means loads like the feeling of winning is unreal.

What weight do you fight at ?
From 57 kg to 63kg.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My stand up is way better.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
not sure.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
probably Peter Deanne in k1 I lost on a split decision it was a back and forth fight.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I just think of combos I try not to think of winning or losing.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting Patrick Doran for a 62 kg k1 title at TFC.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I actually never seen him fight.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Total Full Combat.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as the best ever.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“a man without scars on his face never had a fight for something he believed in”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning gold and silver at the irish martial arts expo.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
my coach Declan he taught me kicks and good combos and made my ground game good.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor McGregor because he’s really getting the sport out there.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Class.

What drives or motivates you ?
My mam for pushing me far.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I do MMA because it’s all over Facebook.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Eat.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Train hard and then everything will go your way.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
smoking and drinking all the time.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Watching fights and training.

Where do you see the yourself in 5-10 years ?
A professional MMA fighter with lots of belts

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Conor McGregor.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Declan Kenna and Keith Kavanagh for training me and all my team mates at full power.

