This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 1st 2016

Name – Becca Baldwin
Nickname – The Hurricane
Weight – 115 pounds
Record – 1 win 1 loss
Team – Des Moines Mixed Martial Arts Academy

Where are you from ?
I am from Des Moines, Iowa.

How long have you been training ?
Since August 2015.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Once I walked into Porcelli’s doors MMA became a big part of my life.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Had a few names written down, my mom laughed and said you are a Hurricane; at first she seems calm and beautiful, but you soon find out she shouldn’t be underestimated she can be fierce and never gives up when in the eye of the storm, only gets stronger. I liked that so it stuck.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
One day after thinking hard about things that I’ve been through and watching a Rousey vs. Tate fight there was an overwhelming feeling saying that’s it MMA is what you need, that’s the day I walked in Porcelli’s doors and told coach Anthony Porcelli I was there to become a fighter. I was hooked that day and it became my passion.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the work of MMA ?
Absolutely, 100% I’m blessed. No one was surprised, I grew up wrestling around and fighting with the guys. I choked out a few back in the day lol.

What is your current record ?
1-0 Strawweight. 0-1 Flyweight. So I’m 1-1.

What is your favorite part of MMA ?
Striking.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My son Dalton is my biggest inspiration in life. Also, my inspirations come from coach Porcelli, teammates, family, friends, and fans. They keep you inspired to keep going, to become better, to achieve your goals.

What team do you currently train with ?
Des Moines Mixed Martial Arts Academy (DMMMA).

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like standing I find it more exciting.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means hard work, dedication, sacrifices, and never giving up. It means the world to me!!

What weight do you fight at?
115 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
Just who I am, there is only one me.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
After years of improving my skills and becoming Pro, it would be my dream to fight the current UFC Strawweight belt holder.

What has been my toughest challenge to date ?
Fighting someone a lot bigger than me has been my toughest challenge, but I learned a lot from it. My last fight against Kathryn Bassignana.
What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Get pumped up, then calm and focused.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m not sure yet.

What holes and weaknesses do you find in their game ?
Once I find out who my opponent is I just try to see how they fight, see if they are more a stand up fighter or ground game fighter.

What promotion are you fighting for next ?
I am fighting next for Victory Fighting Championship-VFC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
September, 2016. Exact day not disclosed yet. Fights start at 7pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I never backed down, was fun to watch, tough, humble, and always was improving to be better than I was before.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Coach Anthony Porcelli. He’s my go to guy and the one I trust.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
For women’s MMA Rhonda Rousey has had the biggest impact on the sport, bringing attention to women fighters and showing we are not just good at cooking lol.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
In the works, aggressive.

What drives or motivates you, what is something people may not know about you ?
I have always been driven, but my son motivates me even more. People may not know that MMA and fighting literally saved my life, I had suffered from PTSD a few years. I was not at a good place mentally!! It gave me back who I once was and my self-esteem back that I lost for little while.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
What I’m doing now being a mom, help coach when I can, going to college majoring in criminal justice to get a job working someday with troubled juveniles.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to battle ?
No rituals, but the crowd gets me hyped up and ready to fight.

Your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Get the crowd pumped up, stay focused, punch hard, hope my shorts don’t fall off and sports bra stays put.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Diaz and Holmes.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing with your free time ?
I don’t have much free time. Most of my free time is spent with my son. I like shooting guns, shopping, fishing, swimming, dancing, going to watch MMA fights, go watch a concert or a band, go to amusement parks, the zoo, travel, camping, spend time with those I love, and anything outdoors pretty much. Skydiving is on my list to try this year, I’m excited!!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Just improving everyday, never giving up.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Finding opponents right at your level, we are growing but still do not have a large number like the guys.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
I am young, just turned 20. The best advice I can give is when you get knocked down, get back up and keep going. Do not look at a loss as losing, look at it as you do not lose you either win or learn. Knowledge and experience will improve your game, open your eyes up to things, so don’t ever quit; quitters never will win in the cage or in life!!

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I see it exploding even more, evolving, and having something like a UFC women’s only show drawing in the fans and money.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Growing, improving, and becoming a pro.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goals are to keep improving, and not stop until I’m satisfied at where am and what I’ve accomplished. To coach and motivate more girls/women to get into the sport. Someday maybe run my own MMA academy.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Yes, a big shout out and thank you to my coach and mentor Anthony Porcelli, I’m grateful for all you have done and for changing my life. My teammates at DMMMA, especially the ones always willing to take their time to help me improve and get me ready for my next fight they know who they are. Tree James and Pepe Pena from South Des Moines Boxing Club. I want to say thank you to my parents, my son Dalton, my family, friends, sponsors, fans, and to the promoters that have given me the opportunity to fight; without all these people it would not be possible. Thank you!!

