This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 7th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Katherine Grasshopper
Nickname – The Phoenix
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 4 wins 4 losses
Team – AMA Muay Thai

Where are you from ?
A little bit of everywhere really. Born and raised in PA, lived everywhere from Germany to Oklahoma to Michigan. I’m currently back in Weston Florida training at AMA Muay Thai in Pembroke Pines Florida under Mauricio Caal.

How long have you been training ?
since about 2012.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Haha by accident. I had started taking Jits up in PA and when we had to move back to Oklahoma there wasn’t a jits gym just an MMA gym, Battleground, that was run by someone my husband went to high school with. Scott Lowe. So I started going there, just to keep losing weight (I used to be 256 pounds). I went to watch the Pro Female from the gym Kathina Catron-Lowe fight, and was hooked. Still took a while after that to get in the cage but I got there eventually.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My actual fight name is the Phoenix, and was given to me by Scott. I went from an obese chain smoker who couldn’t run to a cage fighter under his tutelage, completely transforming from one person to another.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
When I watched Katrina’s fight. I was like, I really wanna do that.
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Um. It was mixed. I got a lot of you’re too old, you’re crazy, but also a lot of go for it!

What is your current record ?
4-4 MMA, and 1-1 Muay Thai.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Clinch and knees. I love knees. They cause so much damage, and I’m really long so I can usually control the clinch and throw them without getting a lot of damage back.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My kids. My daughter Danika especially. She has several medical and educational issues, but she goes in to training and busts her tail and doesn’t quit. She’s my hero.

What team do you currently train with ?
AMA Muay Thai in Pembroke Pines, under Mauricio Caal.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Lately stand. I love to punch people in the face. But I’ve started working on ground more.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It means not quitting, being an inspiration and role model for others. It means going out there and no matter what pushing through circumstances that might break another person and coming out stronger than you were before.

What weight do you fight at ?
135, 140 for Muay Thai.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I just don’t know when to quit lol. Even if sometimes I should!

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
At this point anyone! Florida MMA is horrible for females. There just aren’t any here.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I think every opponent is tough honestly. I can’t really say one was tougher then another one. Nadeia did the most visible damage to date though. I usually come out of a fight with some bumps and bruises, but she gave me 2 black eyes.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Fight camp it’s just training to win. I’m usually just happy and then during the weight cut miserable. Right before the fight, in the back, I cry. It’s usually what the heck did I do, why did I do this..that lasts till I get in the cage. Then I’m happy again because I get to punch someone and have fun.

Who are you fighting next ?
I have no clue. I’ve had so many ammy fights by Florida standards, I’m having a really hard time getting matched. I am supposed to fight a Muay Thai match in June but we will see. I’ve had a couple offers for pro fights but I’m not sure about that. I was asked back for WCFL October 8, but I would really like to fight again before that.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game ?
Well Rafael hasn’t given me an opponent for October yet so I don’t know.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
WCFL.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Oct 8 at the moment.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Having heart, being humble, and being a girl that comes to fight and put on a war.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My kids. 100 percent.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Every single female that gets in that cage.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I used to be a brawler, but I’m working on using more technique. But I’m still a striker.

What drives or motivates you ?
My babies, and all the other girls out there who want to fight.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I listen to show tunes or classical while getting wrapped and sitting in the back. Helps keep my adrenaline down. This last fight it was Vivaldi. I’m actually a classically trained musician J

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Sitting around still being fat lol.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Just the crying lol. It releases all the fear and nerves.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Dear God why do we do this to ourselves? Haha!

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Probably Roxy or KGB. I love watching them fight, and their Invicta fight against each other was epic.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I have 6 kids 12 and under. I don’t have free time!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Just getting in there and doing it! I’m pretty stoked about winning my last fight. I was the underdog, and winning was a huge upset. I think Tapology predictions had me at a 4 percent chance of winning. I’m proud of that win.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Getting fights! Girls need to step up.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Just don’t quit. It never gets easy, but it gets easier. Follow your heart if it is what you want to do then do it.

Where do you see women’s mma in the next 5-10 years ?
Hopefully as big if not bigger than men’s!
Women bring it. We hold nothing back and put on wars.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Oh I have no idea. Fighting, teaching, something. I don’t plan that far in advance.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To always have fun doing it, and to keep going as long as I can.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Everyone who has helped me get here! My husband, for all the support he gives me. Scott and Kathina, and everyone at Battleground for giving me my start. Mauricio and my teammates at AMA for pushing me past what I think are my limits to show me I can go further and making me better. Luis Gutierrez for sending me to Mauricio! And always my kids. They are my life.

