This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 9th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Oscar Bonilla
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 3 wins 1 loss 2 draws
Team – Ortiz Boxing Gym

Where are you from ?
I’m originally from Yonkers New York but live in Bridgeport CT.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been in the sport since the age of 9.

How did you get in to the sport ?
My dad was a boxer when he was younger and it kind of grew on to him and took me.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
no nick name just Bonilla.

What was the defining moment when you knew you wanted to pursue a career in Boxing ?
just like it grew on my father it kind of grew on to me and I did it cause I love it.

When you decided to pursue a career in boxing were your family and friends supportive ?
Oh yes they were my mother is a little afraid but very supportive and I have a little brother who is also an amazing fighter he’s an armature but very skillful by the name of Kevan Bonilla 15 years of age.

What is your current record ?
3-1-2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
my children are I do this for my family I want my kids to be proud of their dad.

What team do you train with ?
I train out of Ortiz Boxing Gym.

Are you an offensive or defensive style Boxer ?
Kind of more offensive.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is just a part of me.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 135 pounds

What do you think separates you from other fighters ?
Honestly not sure about what separates me from the others at my weight.

If you were given the chance to take one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
one dream fight I’ll have to say Rocky Martinez I feel that it can come true.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
my toughest fight I would have to say Angel Martinez.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Win win win.

Who are you fighting next ?
Nick Delomba.

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit when you step in the ring with him ?
No comment.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’m fighting on a CES promotions card.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Date will be July 15th fights start at 7:30 I believe

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
Oscar Bonilla was an amazing fighter and retired a champion.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Well this will be my first title bout out of many more.

Who has had the biggest impact and influence on you and your career ?
My father.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Very aggressive.

What drives or motivates you ?
My children motivate me.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have several ways of fighting I have just stuck to one but can definitely switch it up.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Family time.

What advice can you impart on the next generation of fighters ?
Stay focused out of the streets be careful who u surround yourself with.

What do you think your life would be like if you had never picked up a pair of boxing gloves?
Really not sure I’m thinking just regular full-time job living check by check.

What gets you ready for a fight ?
My family’s confidence.

Where do you see the sport of Boxing in 5 years ?
More fighters and more money. And a lot more fights.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I have to say my favorite fighter is Eddie Croft.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to in closing ?
I would like to thank God first of all
Eddie Croft for teaching me what he did and opening doors up for me in the west coast Carlos Nieves Ricardo Nieves and my father Cale

