This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 11th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Gabriel Souza
Nickname – Gabrielzinho
Team – Casa of JiuJitsu / Zenith Piracicaba.

Where are you from ?
I’m from Piracicaba, São Paulo.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training jujitsu 9 years.

How did you get in to JiuJitsu ?
I lived at Campinas SP, when I changed to Piracicaba SP, the gym is next to my new house, and I started to train jujitsu.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nickname is Gabrielzinho, because i was the youngest at the gym when i started jujitsu.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I was the champion at Campeonato Paulista with 3 months training, and I loved it and I never stopped.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA and JiuJitsu ?
At first, my family and my friends were scared and didn’t like it. But I love it and nobody can change this.

What is your current record ?
I was the third place at World Championship of JiuJitsu 2016.

What is your favorite submission ?
Amr bar

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My master Daniel Padilha. He is like my daddy.

What team do you train with ?
Nowadays at Casa of JiuJitsu here. In Brazil, at Blackbelt – Zenith Piracicaba.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I prefer to fight on top.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter mean to me separation, because many people don’t believe in me and it’s my dream.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My dream about being a champion and my speed.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Against Rodolfo Vieira.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
At the final open class at Brazilian Championship (cbjj at Brazil)

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Do my techniques and be always the first to command.

You competed in a Purple belt challenge at Ammo Fight League tell us about that experience ?
It doesn’t drag me down. I was ready to do my best fight at purple division.

You entered the tournament as a blue belt stepping up against more experienced opponents what was your ultimate goal when you decided to compete in the purple belt challenge ?
My ultimate goal was to show my potential. I like challenges.

What was going through your head When you won the purple belt challenge ?
I was very happy and gratitude for my hard trainings.

What is next for you ?
world championship of jujitsu (ifbjj)

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered to win at life with jujitsu, accomplishment at jiu jitsu and be a world champion.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment is MMA, because I love it.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My mother always with me.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Rodolfo Vieira, because he is my inspiration. I want to be 1% of who he is.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Strong and pressure.

What drives or motivates you ?
My dream to win at life with jujitsu.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I love chocolate and candy so much, but I have to keep on my diet.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to watch the fights, to discover different places, to sleep and to be with my family in my free time.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
My advice is never give up on your dreams, to have faith.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would be a teacher of JiuJitsu.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I always pray to God, I feel the mat and join the fight.

Where do you see the sport of JiuJitsu in 5-10 years ?
I hope jujitsu grows up to be more professional.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Rodolfo Vieira.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
First of all I have to thank God, my family, my master Daniel Padilha, my partners of JiuJitsu at Black belt-Piracicaba and Casa of Jiu Jitsu, my teacher Uilton, my sponsors Begreen ,visual suplementos, rango fitnes, Kangaroo, espaço octagon and Pantera pisos

