This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 12th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Adina Beaudry
Weight – 115 Pounds
Record – 0 wins 0 losses
Team – Nostos MMA / Port City BJJ

Where are you from ?
Hampton NH.

How long have you been training ?
On and off for 11 years. Different styles and some long and short periods of taking breaks. Especially with school.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started with karate and grappling in 2004, the grappling team then opened an MMA gym in 2006 and I followed them and started getting into other stand up forms.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
Since I was probably 6 years old. I wanted to be in the military and work special operations at a young age. I also really wanted to be Lara Croft from Tomb Raider. Getting into karate, then other martial arts was something I wanted since childhood.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family was once they saw me help out in a self-defense class. And most of my friends think it is cool. I don’t generally talk about it often, as it is just a hobby.

What is your current record ?
This is my first cage fight. I have won two other hybrid fights, karate tourneys and was second in a grappling tournament.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I love chokes. I especially love gi chokes, or heel hooks. You can thank my coach Troy for that.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I really don’t have one. I try to make myself better. I obviously have people I look up to, most are family or friends. I just truly want to be a better me.

What team do you train with ?
I work MMA out of Nostos in Somersworth NH. And my BJJ is with Port City BJJ in Portsmouth NH.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Well I guess we will find out which I like in a few weeks.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It doesn’t change who I am. I am a very athletic person and I have always been fighting or training for something. This is just a part of me as anything else at this point. I do enjoy knowing that I won’t be a victim, well hopefully.

What weight do you fight at ?
115 lb

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have a lot more muscle and time in this sport than most. I look at it as an art form and I enjoy perfecting myself.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I got to spar with Wanderlei Silva so I had my dream kinda come true.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My last grappling match was against a heavier person that was a little rugged. But the match went for 12 minutes straight so I was smoked.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I do get nervous for any sport I compete in, But I am not sure how being in a cage will differ.

Who are you fighting next ?
After Danielle I am not sure when I will be fighting again. I may take time off to compete in my other sports.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game ?
Their confidence and striking ability.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Cage Titans.

Date and time of your next fight ?
My up and coming fight is June 18th doors open at 6pm I think.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end
of your career ?
“That spitfire of a woman can really kick some ass”

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Well I can say that my coaches are my friends, and have been hugely influential since I was a teen. Troy Pickering, Adam Rivera, Keegan Hornstra, Devin Powell, James DeLuca to name a few. They have been there since my first “MMA” classes and through my transitions to where I am today.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
As in the UFC ? Well as much as I don’t like admitting it, Ronda Rousey. She changed the game, especially for women.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I still have a heavy karate and thai background that still is noticeable. I also have a faster ground game than most BJJ fighters.

What drives or motivates you ?
Myself, and my family. Either my blood family or fight family.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I also compete in Bodybuilding, powerlifting, strongman, crossfit, and bake regularly. And I still want to look into the military as a career before I am too old. Hah.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I wouldn’t really exist as who I am today. My entire youth and adulthood was this. But I guess I would have just found another sport.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I have specific songs I listen to. I like daydreaming about fighting and just zoning out from everyone. But this is going to be different from previous ones.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Well, when that happens I’ll let you know. I have yet to have that experience .

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Wanderlei Silva or Gina Carano probably.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I love to read or watch movies. I am big into baking and creating recipes, especially baking with protein powder. I also really love to be by the ocean and go longboarding in the summer. Otherwise my life is work and training.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Knowing my true potential and being confident in my abilities.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Being taken seriously. Or just harassment in general. It is hard to be taken serious when we are immediately seen as weaker, ( which yes women need to work harder to build even half the muscle as men) or our only clothing options are provocative, and pink and purple. But we are just as skilled. And boy have I been rocked by some little girls.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Just keep training, but don’t give up on being young. Train when you can, but realize there are more important things in life too.

Where do you see women’s MMA  in the next 5-10 years ?
I think it will continue to grow and eventually plateau, like all sports. But there will be something else that takes its place or reinvents it.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Training wise probably the same. Winning some losing some, but always learning and perfecting myself. Hopefully relocating and starting a family and new career.

What are your goals within the sport ?
I want to just take it wherever it goes. I have no expectations other than maybe getting into the promotion side of this or management down the road.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Keegan Hornstra for waking up at 5am almost every day to train with me, and be an amazing boyfriend and training partner (and letting me bruise up that face of his hah) . Devin Powell, Troy Pickering, and Adam Rivera for being there throughout many years finally leading up to this moment. I know we all waited awhile for this.

