This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 13th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Hope Hamilton
Discipline – Karate
Team – Team HCK/Team Bring It

Where are you from ?
I’m from Summerville SC.

How long have you been training in Karate ?
I’ve been training since I was 4, so 12 years now.

How did you get in to Karate ?
my dad asked me when I was 4 if I wanted to do Karate or Ballet, and I picked karate, it’s been pretty steady ever since.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
When I was at a tournament, I was fighting in the 5- division and I went against this boy and I punched him in the face and made him cry. Ever since then I loved fighting.

When you decided to get in to Karate as a competitor what was the reaction from your family and friends ?
Some of My friends and family were supportive if me doing what I do. My dad is a big helper, he’s my coach, mentor, teacher, Everything.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
I would have to say my biggest inspiration will be Chelsey Nash and Raymond Daniels, I can relate to both of their fighting styles.

What team do you train with ?
I train with my home dojo team, Team HCK.
I am also on a national karate team called, Team Bring it. I’ve been on Bring It for almost a year now!

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means a lot to me, it’s challenging, exciting and all around just awesome.

What division do you compete in ?
I fight in the 16-17 girls Black Belt 121- divisions.

What separates you from other competitors in your division ?
I’m a go-getter. I’ll try to end the match quickly and get it over with so I can move on to the next fight up until the win!

If you could have one dream match up who would it be against and why ?
I would have to say Chelsey Nash, because she’s my biggest inspiration and it would be a dream come true if I was able to fight her!

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Isabella Caracta would be my toughest opponent as of right now, I haven’t gotten a win on her yet, but I’ve been training hard and I’m coming for that win against her.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is to go in and do what I practice, I say to myself before every fight “you can do this, you train harder than any other girl in the world, no one can beat you”.

When are you competing next ?
My next tournament is The Battle of Atlanta, in Atlanta, GA.

What holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents ?
I see different things in different people. Like the way they move their hands or the way they move their feet. Whether or not they kick or punch a lot.

Date and time of your next fight ?
This is an easy one, World Championship. Battle of Atlanta, June 17-18.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for the effort I put into what I do, and time and dedication.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
The are 2 people who come to mind, Chelsey Nash and Raymond Daniels. Like I said because I can relate my fighting style to theirs. Raymond Daniels, hands down. He’s an absolute beast!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe my fighting style as free-flowing. Kind of doing what I please, and carrying the fight the way I want to.

What drives or motivates you ?
The struggles I’ve been through are a big motivation to me.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never found Karate ?
I would most likely be a gymnast because gymnastics has been a sport I also do.

What gets you ready to compete ?
Certain music I listen to gets me “in the mode” and warming up before my fights always helps.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Chelsey Nash.

When you are not training or competing what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to go to the movies with my friends, shopping sometimes, but mostly sleep!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in Karate so far ?
Haha. Getting on Team Bring It has been my biggest accomplishment so far in my career.

What do you think are the biggest challenges females face in karate ?
Getting over fear. The fear of being hit, the fear of what’s going to happen next.

What advice can you give to other young female fighters ?
My advice to other female fighters would be to never give up. People will tell you that you cant do it because you are a girl pay them no mind and just do you.

Where do you Karate in 5 years ?
I see women’s fighting going crazy in the next 5-10 years.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself on a bigger, higher team with 3 world championships.

What are your goals in the sport ?
My goal is to stay in my sport for another 20 years! Haha!

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my dad, Jerry for always pushing me to do better and do more. Also for all the haters out there for giving me motivation to work harder and keep proving them wrong. And lastly all my teammates HCK and Bring It for standing by me no matter what!

