This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 15th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Ronni Nanney
Weight – 115-125 Pounds
Record – 1 win 5 losses
Team – Sullivan Athletic Club

Where are you from ?
I’m from Sullivan MO.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training in the martial arts for 17 years.

How did you get in to Martial Arts and MMA ?
I was competing in karate tournaments and doing pretty good but they’re not full contact. I had started taking boxing and jujutsu and wanted to know how good I really was, wanted to test my self to my full ability.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I don’t think I had just one defining moment. I started fighting to test my self. I enjoyed that first fight and wanted to test myself with the next person. Then you get supporters to urge you on and it makes it that much easier to keep going.

When you decided to pursue a career as a fighter what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive ?
My family and friends are very supportive. My mom is a little nervous to have me fighting, but she doesn’t miss a fight. My dad and brother are right there with her and my husband is always beside me.

What is your current record ?
My current pro record is 1-5.

What is your favorite strike and submission ?
I don’t really have a favorite strike/submission. Whatever works is what I like.

Who has been the biggest inspiration to you ?
I have many inspirations. Other fighters who have overcome hard times, my family who teaches me to follow my dreams and never give up, my friends who give me confidence…there is no “biggest”.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Rob Ward’s Sullivan Athletic Club

Where do you prefer to take the fight do you like to keep it standing or go to the ground ?
I prefer to stand but if we go to the ground I’m ok with that too.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means never giving up. Go for your dreams and anything is possible. Show respect, earn respect.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight around 115lbs-125lbs.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I’d like to say my determination and stubbornness separates me from other fighters but I’m pretty sure all fighters are. How else could we all get in a cage, again and again, and get hit repeatedly?

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
All fights are dream fights.

Who has been your toughest fight ?
I don’t think I have a toughest fight. They are all tough in different ways.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Going in to a fight I keep telling myself “I have to win. Winning is the only way”

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m not really sure yet who my next fight will be. Nothing has been set for sure yet.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’ll be fighting for Shamrock FC July 23rd.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
At the end of my career I want to be known as a great fighter, but a lovable person.

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
As with my biggest inspiration, there are many influences. My parents, friends and family are always everywhere. Influence, inspire, encourage…I will say, though, that the reason I started the martial arts 17 years ago was because I wanted to be like Jackie Chan!

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on MMA ?
I’m not sure who has had the biggest impact. I know everybody always says Ronda Rousey opened the door, and she did bring more attention to us women, but without other women to fight she wouldn’t have been able to do that.There are many great women and men who have impacted the sport in many different ways.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe my fighting style as bushido karate.

What drives and motivates you ?
Determination to be the best motivates me.

What do you think you would be doing if you had never got in to MMA ?
If I hadn’t become a fighter, I think I would still be practicing martial arts, but in a less demanding way. my personal health and fitness is important to me so I don’t see myself not doing anything. Other than that I don’t think there’d be much different. I work a 40hr a week job now so that would be the same.

Do you have any pre-fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
No rituals. I try to picture the girl I’m getting ready to fight and see myself winning. I remember how it feels to lose and how I don’t want that again. I focus on fighting my fight.

Your backstage your music hits what is going through your head as you walk out to the cage ?
When I’m backstage all I can think is ‘Let’s get this going!!’

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I think Roxanne “The Happy Warrior” Modafferi is one of my favorites. I love her attitude. She’s always happy, having fun, and never gives up.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing with your free time ?
I spend my free time with my family. Life is too short and there’s never enough time to spend with the people you love.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA so far ?
So far my biggest accomplishment is going pro.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
The biggest challenges, I think are the people on the outside. People will judge women for fighting. Many consider it a “man sport” and while that is changing, you still get the few who have things to say.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Advice to young female fighters…Train hard and don’t give up. You’ll reach some rough patches but if you truly want it, it will happen.

Where do you see women’s MMA in 5 years ?
I think women’s mma will continue to grow in the next 5-10 years. It’s already grown so much, I don’t see it slowing down.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In the next 5 years, I hope to be doing Pro MMA as my career. Winning more fights!

What are your goals ?
My goals in the sport are to continue to get better. I want to eliminate my weaknesses and be great.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank my coach Rob Ward for teaching me what I know and all at the Sullivan Athletic Club for helping me to train and push me constantly. My Mom, Dad, brother my husband and two kiddos for always being there from the beginning and being my support team and for dealing with me when I’m stressed getting ready, hugging me when I lose and celebrating with me when I win!

