This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 17th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Molly Walborn
Age – 12 Years Old
Nickname – The Monster
Weight – 42 kg (92 pounds)
Record – 28 wins 8 losses
Team – Nemesis Muay Thai Academy

Where are you from ?
I am from Erith, Kent.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training in Muay Thai for almost 5 years and been training Brazilian jujitsu for 2 and half years. I have also been doing MMA for a couple of months.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA because I watch the UFC with my dad. I really like Ronda Rousey and wanted to get even better than her. I wanted to be the first person to beat her and that made me train even harder.

Tell us about your nickname The Monster how did you get it ?
My fighter name is Molly ‘The Monster’ Walborn. I got that name because people use to tell me I was a monster in the ring.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I went to train because I struggled with my behavior at school. It was before I was diagnosed with autism. My mum sent me to try to help me. After a few weeks my coach sent me for my first inter club and I knew then this was what I wanted to do. I really enjoyed it.

When you decided to compete in Muay Thai and MMA what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive ?
My mum and dad always tell me I can be anything I want to be. They do tell me I have to keep up with school just in case it doesn’t work out but if that’s what I want to do then go for it.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 28 wins and 8 loses in Muay Thai with 8 titles including a world title and I have achieved 1 bronze 2 silver and 10 golds in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and also won Naga 2016 expert division for gi and no gi. I am yet to compete in MMA but hope to this year

What is your favorite strike and submission ?
In Thai it’s the knee and BJJ its arm bar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I watched the UFC over the weekend and Michael Bisping really made me look at things differently. No matter how many times he got close to winning the belt and then got knocked back he kept going and got it in the end.

What team do you train with ?
I currently train at Nemesis Muay Thai Academy with my coaches Michael Tekyi, David Muscat, Bernise Alldis and Austin Gardiner.

Where do you think you would want to take the fight would you keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
All though I have not had an MMA fight I would like to take it to the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I love fighting and if I couldn’t I don’t have any words to describe how I would feel.

What weight do you fight at ?
My weight is 42 kg but I am happy to fight anyone.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I don’t know many people who train as much as I do. I go 6 times a week and for up to 3 hours a time. I’m not worried about getting back in the ring with someone I have lost to because you have to beat the best to be the best. My coach always tells me you never lose you either win or learn.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be
against and why ?
My dream fight would be against Miesha Tate. You should always fight the best.

Who has been your toughest opponent ?
My hardest fight was against a girl named Abbie Jones. She was a really good fighter

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Before I have a fight I just remind myself that win or lose I just have to do my best.

Who are you fighting next ?
My next fight for BJJ is 26th June but I don’t know who it is until the day.
Muay Thai I will hopefully be fighting 7th August but we are still sorting details out

What weaknesses do you look for in your opponents that you can exploit ?
I don’t look for weaknesses in other people I focus on what they can’t do instead of what I can do

What promotion will you be competing for ?
The BJJ competition is IBJJF British National 2016 June 26th not sure of what time but it is an all day thing.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I just want to be remembered for being a good fighter who never gave up.

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career ?
My coaches are my biggest influence cause they made me who I am today.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact om the sport ?
Conor McGregor has made a massive impact in MMA.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like to be relaxed placing my shots carefully and I work a lot on counter striking.

What motivates you ?
I don’t need motivating. I love to fight that’s all the motivation I need. I nearly never became a fighter. The first time I went to training I couldn’t understand why I was allowed to hit when I was always told not to. It took 6 months for me to go back.

What do you think you would be doing if you had not become a fighter ?
I’m not sure I can’t imagine not being a fighter.

What gets you ready for a fight do you have any rituals or traditions that get you prepared to walk to the ring ?
The warm up really gets me in the mind-set for a fight. I don’t really have rituals

Your backstage your music plays what is going through your mind as you walk to the ring ?
When the music starts that’s when my nerves kick in and I just tell myself it’s just another fight.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Iman Barlow is my favorite fighter.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I have free time I like to take part in other sports such as swimming, football and gymnastics and go out with my mates.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
Winning my first ever title. It was the best feeling in the world.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in combat sports ?
The way people look at woman fighters and the lack of categories for woman. It’s getting better but still not the same as the way people look at male fighters.

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
My advice would be don’t let people put you off. If you want it enough go for it.

Where do you see women’s MMA in 5 years ?
I think people are going to see what woman are really made of. Hopefully there will be more support for us by then.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Hopefully in 5 years I will be having pro fights and getting ready to be on the UFC.

What are your goals ?
My main goal is to be a world champion.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
The people I want to thank are my coaches. Michael Tekyi Bernise Alldis and David Muscat for always being there and believing in me. For never giving up on me. Also a special shout out to some one who started me off with the help of Michael Tekyi and that’s Mark Colville. When many people said I couldn’t do it and wouldn’t get any where they were there for me.

