This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 21st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Cory Samuals
Nickname – Lightning Wolf
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 6 wins 6 losses
Team – Mma Fightclub

Where are you from ?
I’m from fort Lauderdale Florida

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 4 years but I started
boxed when I was 12.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Well I use to fight a lot in school and i use to fight backyard bare knuckle and get into little gang fights so i was in trouble alot so my mom told me if i didn’t do something with myself i was going to end up dead so i started looking for classes and it grew from there.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My grandfather actually gave it to me he is half native american so I take pride in that. lightning wolf is just who i am fast and aggressive.

What was the defining moment when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
Well I always wanted to be a fighter it was just me not having the money so i trained myself for a while and took my first fight boxing I won that fight got my hand raised and i have been addicted ever since.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of mma ?
My mom was scared but she thought it was better than being in the streets.
My friends thought I was crazy they use to say your going to get beat up i just ignored that i like to think positive.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike has to be the spin kick my favorite submission has to be the triangle choke.

What is your biggest inspiration ?
My mother most definitely she always told me failure is not trying and I stick to that.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Mma Fightclub but I also have different gyms for different things.

What is your current record ?
6 wins and 6 losses

Do you like to stand with your opponent or do you like to take the fight to the ground ?
I love to keep it standing I just love the rush of trading shots to feel that pain makes me want more and it make me throw harder.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Fighting with all you got all your heart win or lose that’s what it means to me.

What weight do you fight at ?
145 I’ve been known to take fights at 155 on short notice sometime 135 but def 145 is my weight im a fighter so I would fight at 170 if i have to.

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
Well im really fast for my weight and I definitely hit hard and i rarely get hit in my fights thanks to great head movement.

If you had one dream fight would it be against ?
It would be jose aldo I really look up to him he is a great fighter but i just want to fight him to push myself beyond what i think I’m capable of.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
It’s always been myself.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Have fun and fight the best I can.

Who are you fighting next ?
Who ever they put in front of me.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
Always stand up I feel as though no one in my division can stand with me.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’m fighting Florida vs Georgia next and im going pro after that.

Date and time of next fight ?
August 6 is my next fight.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
The guy who fought his butt off and was always exciting.

What has been your biggest accomplish in mma ?
Me fighting the people no one else wants to fight.

What has been the biggest influence for you in your career?
My grandmother she passed fighting cancer and I promised her i would keep fighting till i couldn’t fight anymore.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
As much as I hate to say it Conor McGregor he showed everyone that movement and precision is key.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I call it monkey muay thai its really an unpredictable style.

What drives or motivates you?
My family always pushes me to be a better fighter and person.

What is something people may not know about you ?
I prefer kicking over punching even though I have a boxing background.

When you are not in the gym training what do you do with your free time ?
Think about training new and weird moves and movie’s I love watching movies as well.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Go with your dream fight with your heart and play it smart.

What do you think you would be doing if you haven’t become a fighter ?
Honestly dead or in prison don’t know what I would do if i wasnt a fighter.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
The crowd and all the emotion building up to it.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready for battle ?
I have photos of my passed loved ones I kiss their picture before i go to battle and i ask the great spirit for protection and im ready to go.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 year ?
Hopefully in everyone’s house hold.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Tricky I have a Few but if i had to pick it would be jose aldo,Donald Cowboy Cerone and Larez Larken.

Is there anyone you would like to throw a shout out to ?
Hammer kickboxing , Manfort Muay Thai ,Tribal BJJ and
Mma Fightclub Management of Champions.

