This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 29th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Annabelle Gely
Nickname – Sweet Demon
Weight – 59 kg (130 Pounds)
Record – 16 wins 2 losses 1 draw
Team – Team Tieu

Where are you from ?
I’m French but i have lived in the Uk for over 12 years.

How long have you been training ?
Almost 10 years.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
If you would have asked me this 10 years ago I would have said what martial arts ahah not for me..A friend recommended i try the gym down the road from where I used to live..That what it I fell in love after the first session(even though I did die on the mat lol).My life was changed for ever.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
The girls at the gym chose it for me, most people called me beast but I’m a sweet person so here come the sweet demon I guess lol.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
My first Thai boxing show I went to, I was in admiration in front of all the fighters especially the women, I thought to myself one day I will be there.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai ?
My mum still can’t watch me lol but yes all my family are behind me my friends, work colleagues, my bosses all show me incredible support.My partner is amazing without him I could not do what I do.My son is my first fan, go mummy go boxing lol.

What is your current record ?
19 Fights 16 W 2 L 1 D.

What is your favorite strike ?
The step knee.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I have some many athletes I look up too it’s hard to choose , Mohammad Ali would be the biggest.

What team do you train with ?
I am training under the wings of Philip Tieu (Team Tieu ) in London.
I also train with Saab at Keddles gym.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It’s a life style, it’s sharing memory’s with your team, it’s testing yourself, It’s learning, it’s giving,It’s people believing in you…It’s so many thing it’s a way of life

What weight do you fight at ?
My favorite is 59kg but i will take fights between 58kg and 61kg.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m French so I will say my stubbornness lol.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I want to fight the best female fighters out there so no a specific name in particular who ever i cross paths with.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
It’s hard to pick one, Marie Pantazie, Sheree Halliday, Lucy Payne, Sarah MacCarthy.. all great fights and great experiences.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Let’s do this;-)

Who are you fighting next ?
Antonina Schevchenko.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
She’s a complete fighter, I can’t tell you 😉

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’m over excited and so grateful to fight at Lion Fight 30.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Friday 8th July at Foxwood Resort.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I like going forward, like my knees, my clinch, my elbows.

What drives or motivates you ?
I have quite an addictive character, if I decide to do something I will do it what ever it takes.. I must say my son is my drive, the look in his eye when I come back home and show him the video or trophee it’s priceless.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
It could not have been any different way.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Not really I generally sleep a lot before going on the ring lol
I would train like a beats and fight like a girl.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
Why am i doing this lol , I hate the walk out, just that moment between the gloves going on and you reaching the ring arghhhhhh

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Spend time with my partner and son, see my friends, eat lol.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Can I answer this after the 8th July.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Muay Thai ?
Keep showing that we can be entertaining, technical and tough fighters.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Believe in yourself, have a dream and go for it.

Where do you see women’s muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
I think due to the amazing job promoters (MTGP, LIONFIGHT) are doing around the world it brings the women athlete under the light, female muay thai has a bright future.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Thank you Charlie and The Fighting Monkeys MMA Madness for the interview.
I would like to say a very special thank you to Phil Tieu not just for his time training me and his knowledges and his words before I go in the ring but for believing in me..
I would like to say thank Saab, Alan Keddles who have been there sine the early stages in my career, who have spent time teaching me and training me.
I would like to thank Bill Jude because without him opening the door to his gym I would not have started what I love the most.
I would like to thank all my training partners and friends particulary Team Tieu guys you know who you are…I have been welcome.

