This slideshow requires JavaScript.

June 30th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Demarte Pena
Nickname – The Wolf
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 11 wins 0 losses
Team – Fight Fit Militia

Where are you from ?
Angola South Africa.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve trained mma for about 10 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I had a friend in High School that showed me UFC fights, then I was hooked.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
There is a rumor that when I was younger and there was a full-moon, I couldn’t sleep, so then the name came.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I’ve always been a fighter at heart, as my father and most relatives were soldiers that fought for democracy back home.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
They were all shocked, as most didn’t know nor understand how the sport works.

What is your current record ?
11-0

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Favorite submission which was the first I learned is the arm-bar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I try to be self-motivated, it works better that way.

What team do you train with ?
Fight Fit Militia in Johannesburg South Africa.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
It depends, I keep the fight where I believe I’m better than the specific opponent.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It’s a way of life, self-expression through martial arts.

What weight do you fight at ?
Bantamweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I work harder than all of them.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Dominick Cruz.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My fight against Wentzel Nel.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To win, nothing else comes to mind.

Who are you fighting next ?
Still to be confirmed.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I don’t focus a lot on my opponents, I just make sure I have no holes that can be exploited.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Extreme Fighting Championship.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Around September the 4th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
As an inspiration, someone who inspired others to overcome.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Impossible is impossible.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
2 division champion. Featherweight and Bantamweight.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Hard to say, but all my coaches.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I believe my belief in God, as kept me strong and made me believe in myself even more.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Tough, smart and resilient.

What drives or motivates you ?
Self-motivated.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a graduate.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Just relax, read and just find out about random things.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Be yourself, and make your own rules.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably be a soldier or policeman.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Winning is a great feeling, so that motivates me.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
Mainstream worldwide.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Rickson Gracie.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Follow me on Twiter @thewolfpena & Instagram thewolfpena Thanks to everyone that supports me.

