This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 1st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Marcus Maulding
Weight – 170 Pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – SFS

Where are you from ?
Detroit Michigan.

How long have you been training ?
5 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
A Friend told me about an opportunity that came up where they needed a 170 pound fighter and me being a former boxer I jumped aboard.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Actually never got one lol.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
In my second amateur fight i got a 17 second knockout.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
They were really supportive and actually pushed me to become better.

What is your current record ?
1-0 professional.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I’m actually a big fan of throwing a flying knee.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My sister she’s always been such a tough person and raising 4 kids alone makes me strive for greatness.

What team do you train with ?
Sfs (scorpion fighting systems)

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’ve always been a striker and love it but now I AM getting more comfortable taking it to the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
dedication hard doing what fighters do and live a normal life.

What weight do you fight at ?
170 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
The fact that I am capable of ending a fight with one punch. Many fighter in the division have skill to put a hurting on an opponent but can’t finish at any point and time I can end it.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Of course it would have to be Robbie. He is the pinnacle.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest fight was in my amateur career vs khaos Williams.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Honestly I’m weird I’m usually goofy and run around playing all night until the cage locks

Who are you fighting next ?
Coach is setting it up as soon as possible but look out for me fighting at wxc (warrior xtreme cage fighting) unless Dana calls and needs me to fight cm punk. 😉

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
Not sure yet.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I believe it will be WXC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Hoping August 13th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That no matter what happens I’m always there for the fans.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
We are a reflection of our fears or our dreams make your decision. – myself-

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Being a 1-0 pro. I’ve always told my mom I’d be a pro and now I’m here.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My mom. She had 3 heart attacks when she gave birth to me and was not supposed to live past the winter of 1989. She survived till last Friday a 26 year miracle.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I have way to me many people to name I’ve had support from everyone.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Devastating.

What drives or motivates you ?
The dream that I can become the worlds best.

What is something people might not know about you I can juggle

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I love to spend time with my beautiful son or hang out with my other family.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Head up no matter what. Always honor your commitment.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I don’t know. Never thought about it.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Honestly I’m the least hype person I’m not ready till I have to defend myself.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5 years ?
Just like it is now holding down the top of competitive sports.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Hopefully the defending UFC champion.

What do you think can change moving forward to make mma better as a sport ?
Better compensation for fighters.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Honestly I would have to say Amanda bobby cooper she is just so vicious.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My coaches james gray Brian forneserio john chalbeck my best friend and former striking coach john Johnson. all of my teammates at sfs and most importantly my family.

