This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 4th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Phillip Cortez
Nickname – Iron Heart
Weight – 170 pounds
Record – 2 wins 2 losses
Team – Mma Fightclub

Where are you from ?
I’m from Akron Ohio. Now living in Titusville, Fl.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for 4 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA from a close friend named Doug Christie.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is Iron Heart because no matter how ever hard you hit me I eat it I never quit.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I watched my brother for two years as boxer and one day I watched Bellator and fell in love with it I wanted to learn anything I could about the sport.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family is very supportive my wife is even more supportive they support and know my potential.

What is your current record ?
My record is 2-2 as an amature.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite submission is the Russian arm bar.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
probably the guys I train with duke Webb James Devine and Jamike Muhammad oss.

What team do you train with ?
I train with top fighters at various gyms or where ever i can get it in. My fight and management team is Mma Fightclub #Management of Champions.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Where ever the fight goes I’m well-rounded.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
What does being a fighter mean to me ? it means self discipline, patients and self-respect I have respect for all my opponents.

What weight do you fight at?
I fight at 170 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
My will my desire and my toughness.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
If i could have one dream fight it would be against Frankie Edgar.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Keetan Short.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is clear when I fight.

Who are you fighting next?
Keegan Boyd from GA. In a GA vs Fl Amateur show.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
I don’t talk bad or discuss other fighters weaknesses because we all have them.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Various promotions. My next fight will be in GA @ 12-23 Promotions on that GA vs FL card for August. Next will be @ Muscle Fighting Championship in Ocala, Fl in Sept. After that What ever Mma Fightclub has for me.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Aug 6th 7pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a overachieved fighter my jujitsu has come along way.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA ?
It’s still early. I was chosen by a strong management to rep their fight team. The sky’s the limit for me. My biggest accomplishment is yet to come..

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Muhammad Dereese and the Diaz brothers.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Anderson Silva.
How would you describe your fighting style ?
I feel I’m a unorthadox fighter.

What drives or motivates you ?
My wife.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I Have a serious ground game.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I love spending time with my wife on the beach or at work.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Stick with win-lose or draw never give up.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Working and raising kids.

do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
No.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
I see this sport in 5-10 years over packed with great fighters.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Anderson Silva.

Is there anyone you want to throw a shout out to ?
Duke Webb Mo Muscle Dereese, James Devine. Jamike, Daryl Lashawn Hatchett of Mma Fightclub. And all my family and friends.

