This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 5th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Yasmin Nazary
Nickname – The Scottish Zombie
Weight – 50kg (110 pounds)
Record – 4 wins 6 losses 1 draw
Team – Muay Thai Inc / Phuket Top Team

Where are you from ?
Scotland but I moved to England and that’s where I picked up Thai boxing.

How long have you been training ?
3 years.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
I did a little when I was 15 for fitness and when I moved to England I thought it would be good to start it up again to meet people and keep in shape.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it?
Haha I don’t have an official nick name but a friend made a passing comment about how I stare when I fight and called me “the Scottish zombie” which my coach Oliver Warren loves to call me…. I’m not so keen haha but I do get a lot of comments on how I stare in my fights.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I was seeing all the other fighters and I thought God I don’t know if I could do that, the fact I was scared of it made me want to do it so I did.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MuayThai ?
Erm….. Haha I think they where all slightly concerned. My mum and my sister and brother where supportive but she still asked me to do singing instead. My dad didn’t like it at all at the beginning. But I think everyone thought it would be a passing phase, I suppose I did to at the start but I fell in love with it.

What is your current record ?
4W 1D 6L

What is your favorite strike or submission?
I don’t have a particular favourite, each fight I learn something new or I get excited about a new move so it’s constantly adapting as I improve.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
The guys around me who coach me and are my training partners they all inspire me in different ways… Their energy in the gym pushes me forward.

What team do you train with?
At the moment I’m in Thailand fighting for Phuket top team but my team back home is Muay Thai Inc.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It’s my life… It inspires me to evolve not just in the sport but in my life and look at things in a different light.

What weight do you fight at ?
50kg but really anything between 48-50.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m determined and I don’t give up.. Win or lose I get back in the gym and focus on to the next, I’ve set my bar high and I will achieve it.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Now I do have dream fights but I intend to make them reality so I’ll let that stay as a little surprise for others. My team and I are working hard to achieve these dream fights.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I would have to say Anne line, because she was so strong and I wasn’t quite mentally prepared for it. When you have to fight through your mind and stand through a strong opponent I think that’s the toughest test. But all my fights have been great 5 round battles huge respect to all the girls I’ve fought.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Have fun, be present, remember and smile.

Who are you fighting next ?
My next big fight is against Lucy Horrobin.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
To be honest I don’t know much about her. I tend to just make sure my game is as strong as possible rather than worry about hers.

Date and time of your next fight?
28th of August but I hope to have another before then.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I just hope people look at what I’m doing and realise as long as you believe that your “dreams” are achievable you can turn them into reality.

Who has been most influential to you in your Career ?
I’d say Oliver Warren, since I moved to his gym my goals have become bigger I’ve become more confident and much more active.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport?
For girls ? I have huge respect for Amy Pirnie and Iman Barlow those two girls have made a huge statement in Muay Thai, also my friend Nicola kaye she really impressed me and her attitude around fight time is great it was brilliant to share a fight day with her.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Hmmm I go between quite Thai traditional style and a bit of a brawler I think… Haha.

What drives or motivates you ?
The love for the sport and to show to my younger brother and others that anything you truly want you can achieve.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I live my life through my gut feeling I trust my natural instincts.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably be doing accounting as I enjoy doing that also.. And probably be fat with all the crap I eat haha.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
The fight announcement on social media because you know then it’s confirmed.. It’s the best feeling.

do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I use to have a set plan before a fight but I’ve had a few occasions where I couldn’t do it and I’v just got on with it so I feel that it’s good not thinking you need a to do or have a particular thing before a fight as it may not happen but the fight will still continue… Fight day you have to just be ready to fight no matter what.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
I’m normally taking everything in, feeling the ground I’m standing on, the smell in the air, the noise of the crowd. It all gives me goose bumps…. I’m ready to walk out.

Who is your favourite fighter?
I don’t have a set favourite, as I like little bits from different fighters three of which iv mentioned earlier and they all have different styles but I like people who fight differently and have their own style.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to do spur of the moment things but also like Chilling out with good company and going to fight shows to support my friends.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my ICO British title… That was one of the best feelings.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Muay Thai ?
Getting matched and getting respect… As a female for some reason you’re not seen to be taken it as seriously as the guys but having said that there are a lot more top girls I see getting the acknowledgement they should be so I think it’s definitely changing now.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Believe you can a achieve and you will. Stay focused and if you want it enough don’t give up on it.

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
I think there’s going to be a great network of female fighters as it’s already building up and some brilliant talent. Being main events on big shows is a huge deal and I can see this happening a lot more for us females.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Having my world title belt along side a few others And also having transitioned across to mma.

What are your goals within the sport ?
Becoming world title holder at my weight. Travelling around the world fighting and becoming a good coach.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I have to say a huge thank you to my team of coaches Oliver Warren, Christian Knowles, Sonny Dholakia, Paul Daye. Thank you to everyone who has helped me up until this point and of course my team mates those guys get me through some of the hardest sessions.

 

Make sure you follow Yasmin by cliking the link below and liking her fanpage to stay up to date with all the news from The Scottish Zombie

https://www.facebook.com/Yasmin-Nazary-245780005773132/

