This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 6th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Sam Selander
Nickname – The Sea Monster
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 4 wins 2 losses 1 draw
Team – Animals MMA

Where are you from ?
I’m from Aumsville Oregon.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 6 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA watching it with my dad mostly old UFC reruns

Tell us about your nickname how did you become The Sea Monster ?
The Sea Monster, I got it when I was a kid. I was always small but very tenacious.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I was always into sports but was never big enough to succeed in some sports. MMA had weight classes for smaller guys and I was a good wrestler as a kid so I just felt a natural pull towards it.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My parents have always supported me no matter what I’ve done and my siblings have always believed in me as well.

What is your current record ?
My current record is 4-2-0-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I love kickboxing so a really smooth combo into a kick.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my fiance without here I don’t think I could make it through my day.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Animals.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to be ready for what ever fight my opponent wants to bring. But if he wants to stand and bang I’ll throw down.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is who I am ?

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 145 and have fought at 155.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My tenacity.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
15 I’d fight Bruce Lee just to gain as much knowledge as possible

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Myself.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
It’s do or die. And I’m not gonna go down easy.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being a true legend like Ali and Bruce Lee.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
It Ain’t about hard you hit, it’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward, how much you can take and keep moving forward. – Rocky Balboa

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning a title.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Enoch Wilson and Tony Darcy.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Non stop.

What drives or motivates you ?
My family.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I once shot my own hand with an arrow.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Video games and fantasy football.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
it’s not an easy life at first but as long as you believe in yourself you can accomplish anything.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d be the best I could be at whatever I was doing.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I like to cut and die my hair weird and crazy styles.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Hopefully paying more ?

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Fighting in the UFC.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I am not sure.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
right now McGregor but I love watching anyone willing to make it a fight.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
My Coaches at animals, my friends and family, the supporters who have always stuck by me like MMAMadhouse and PGTB also I Love Miranda William.

For all the latest up to date new on The Sea Monster click the link below and hit the like button on his fan page
https://www.facebook.com/SamTheSeaMonsterSelander/

