aaron2aaron3

July 8th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Aaron McGuigan
Nickname – The Prodigy
Weight – 57kg (125 pounds)
Team – Dundalk fitness Combat Academy

Where are you from ?
I am from Ireland.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 3 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I saw it on tv and wanted to try it.

Tell us about your nickname The Prodigy and how you got it ?
I let my team pick my name.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
My first training session was my defining moment that is when I knew this was what i wanted to do.

When you decided to compete in MMA where your family and friends supportive ?
Yes although my parents hate it.

What is your favorite strike and submission ?
My favorite submissions are the Climbing Armbar or Flying Triangle.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is Buakaw.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Dundalk fitness Combat Academy.

Do you like to stand and bang with your opponent or do you prefer to take the fight to the ground ?
I love to Stand and bang.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Its everything I am.

What weight do you fight at ?
I will fight at 57kg in the future (flyweight)

What separates you from other fighters ?
My fight IQ is what separates me from other fighters.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
If I could have one dream fight it would be against Buakaw.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Matiss.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is grounded and focused.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Matthew Whyte

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
His kicks are weak and I do not think he has ever been properly hit before.

Date of your next fight ?
My next fight will take place on July 31st

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for being The greatest.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Kill or be killed.

Who has been the biggest influence to you in your career ?
My biggest influence is Darren Sonik.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor McGregor because he is a good speaker.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe it as freestyle.

What drives or motivates you ?
Proving everyone wrong is what motivates me.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I played 5 sports before I started fighting.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
when I am not training i like to watch and Analyse fights.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Bring your sleeping bag to the gym.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I think i would be training fighters.

your backstage your music hits what is going through your mind as you walk to the cage ?
As soon as I see the crowd I’m in the zone.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
I see the standard rising.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I see myself fighting in big fights.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is Buakaw.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank Darren Sonik.

aaron4

