This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 11th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Destiny McCubbin
Nickname – My Time
Weight – 115 pounds
Record – 4 wins 0 losses
Team – The Garage MMA

Where are you from ?
Ogden, UT.

How long have you been training ?
2 years all together, 1 year of hard MMA training.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was always in to fighting since I was young but it’s never something your parents want for their daughter, plus it can be expensive. So once I was old enough I got myself in to it. It was actually the Monday after Ronda just beat Alexis Davis at UFC 175.. in what? 16 seconds? Weidman going to war with Machida in the main event, taking the W in what was at the time his toughest fight to date. The question isn’t IF I was inspired, it’s Who Wasn’t? I walked in to my first gym that week and that was my life from that point forward.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
“My Time” . Josh my boyfriend actually gave me the name.. Because it’s something I had always said. I trained my butt off till the day my coach finally scheduled my first fight. I trained and trained, listening to everything he told the other fighters who were actually preparing for a fight.. I listened as if he were talking to me. Always telling myself “My time is coming soon.” Also always being told, ” Patience young grasshopper” or “your time will come.” Lol I was very eager. Then finally! November of 2015 coach told me my first fight was scheduled. It was MY TIME. It’s always going to be MY TIME.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
That first punch to the face of course. You’re so nervous and you get that first punch to the face, and even better, land your first punch to somebody’s face! Just like that hooked. Who doesn’t love punching face ? Lol Not only that though. Just everything about the sport I am in love with. It has completely changed, and saved my life.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Uhm, at first just my parents. And some friends. A lot of people didn’t take me very seriously because of the life I was living at the time. And to live that life and the fight life at the same time.. well there’s no way. And my grandparents who I am very close to, they were not on board at all. Lol They didn’t want to hear nothing about it. So that was a tough pill to swallow. Thankfully, today they are ehh I’d say 95% supportive Lol and now attend my fights.

What is your current record ?
4-0.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Belly down armlock, and my straight right.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My coach, Dave Castillo.

What team do you currently train with ?
The Garage MMA, located in Layton, Ut.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m comfortable either/or. I train to be well-rounded.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Everything. It’s who I am. I breathe, eat, sleep MMA. It literally is what my world revolves around.

What weight do you fight at ?
Strawweight. (115lbs)

what do you think separates you from other fighters ?
My work ethic. I’ll do what needs to be done. Period.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Thug Rose Namajunas! Love her.It would be an honor.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Courtney Youngblood.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Kill or be killed. Pull the trigger.

Who are you fighting next ?
Mallory Martin from Colorado.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
She seems very well-rounded, but there are simple mistakes she makes that I’ll have plenty of chances to expose.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Jeremy Horn’s Elite Fight Night.

Date and time of your next fight ?
August 12th, 2016. I assume 7:00 p.m.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
The girl who had more heart than anybody, and was a fun fighter to watch.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Again, My coach Dave.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
WMMA, Ronda Rousey obviously. Despite her horrible sportsmanship, She opened many doors for all of us.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
With it being so early in just my amateur career it’s hard to say. Right now I’m a fast starter, aggressive. Like to walk my opponents down, eating more punches than I should. Lol.

What drives or motivates you ?
Just knowing it is possible. If I put in the work like I do, it’s more than possible to make it to the top. Also, my future. I am now paving the road for my family’s future.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I am a completely different person than I was 3 years ago.. also addicted to cookies. Any and all flavors.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Probably the same old thing, with the same old people. Typical life.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I pray with Josh, we have our fighters prayer. If we for some reason can’t do it together, he will text it to me. And I go over it a few times. I’m usually pretty emotional til I leave to the venue as well.. Silly I know.

your backstage your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
Bite down. Pull the trigger. Calm Killa. My Time. LETS GO.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Rose Namajunas (Thug Rose), Johnny Hendricks and Frankie Edgar.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Be with my Family, Relax.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far
I received my blue belt in Jiu Jitsu 06/16/2016. Worked really hard for that belt. But everything really, it’s all an accomplishment because I started from absolutely nothing. Zero athletic background. Zero self-discipline. Zero confidence.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think we have to prove ourselves a little more. Ya know, We do have what it takes & we have to make that more than clear. But with WMMA growing the way that it is respect is given more than it isn’t.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Never give up. Something that is hard will eventually become easy. And when that happens, Raise the bar. Never give anybody the opportunity to work harder than you do.

Where do you see women’s mma in the next 5 years ?
I see it taking over. I definitely see it growing. Main events in the biggest arenas.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Invicta FC, working towards the UFC.

What are your goals within the sport ?
Invicta FC, and of course the ultimate destination. UFC. Being the world champion.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My parents. They’ve stood by me throughout this entire journey and I know it’s not always easy. Josh, pushes me and believes in me even when I can’t find a reason to believe in myself. And of course, my coaches David Castillo, Jenny Castillo, And Anthony Lobato. I owe it all to them. Dave never lets me give up, that is simply not an option. Win or lose they are proud, as long as I fight my ass off and never quit. Also, my fight family. My teammates are the ones who push me til I can’t push anymore, and then make me dig even deeper. They’ve seen me bleed, sweat, cry, at my most hangry times Lol. And still, for some reason, love me. My friends, family, and fans. Thanks for the endless support and love. I push for you.A big shout out to my sponsors! Kegenix, Stonecold Cryotherapy, and Tony Gomez Insurance. Always taking care of me, making sure I have what I need, and getting me to a speedy recovery. Couldn’t do it without you guys. ”

Make sure you click the link below and hit the like button to keep up with all the latest news from Destiny “My Time” McCubbin

https://www.facebook.com/Mytimemccubbin/

 

