July 13th 2016
Fighter Profile
Name – Scott Thometz
Nickname – Tickle Fight
Weight – 145 – 155 Pounds
Record – 10 wins 5 losses
Team – SBG Idaho

Where are you from ?
I am from Boise, ID

How long have you been training ?
I have wrestled my whole life, I have been doing Jiu Jitsu for twelve and a half years and I have been striking about eight years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I always wanted to fight, but I wasn’t allowed to for the first couple of years in the Army. It took me a couple of years to convince my chain of command to let me.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Scott “Tickle Fight” Thometz, How do you when a tickle fight? Make it not fun for the other person. I try to use my Jiu Jitsu with that frame of mind; make my opponent uncomfortable and find my opportunities to do damage.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
When I found Jiu Jitsu.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My wife and family were very supportive, they can’t wait for me to retire, but supportive none the less.

What is your current record ?
10-5.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I am partial to Armbars, I utilize them in most positions.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My son, he is my everything.

What team do you train with ?
I own SBG Idaho and run the fight team with my partner.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Either, I am a martial artist. I can fight anywhere and take the fight wherever I want.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Like I said, I am a martial artist and I love to compete. I want to be the best in the world. What better way to Alpha Male another person than to fight them.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at both 145 and 155, but wouldn’t be opposed to taking the right fight at 170.

what do you think separates you from other fighters ?
My ability to transition from my wrestling to my Jiu Jitsu. I am also an aggressive fighter that can bring pressure from every spot.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Myself.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Steven Siler.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
It is just a fist fight, no big deal.

Who are you fighting next ?
David Castillo.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
I think my Jiu Jitsu game is better.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Front Street Fights, one of the quickest growing promotions in the Pacific Northwest.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Aug 12th, main event at Front Street Fights.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
My Jiu Jitsu.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“You booze, you lose; that’s what I always say”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Alaska Fighting Championship Lightweight Champ. Undefeated in Jiu Jitsu as a Black Belt.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Jesse Brock, my partner and teammate. He has a work ethic that would put anyone to shame and the technical knowledge to go along with it. Makes me want to be a better martial artist and person.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Conor McGregor, breaking boundaries and brings eyes to real issues fighters face.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Jiu Jitsu Fighter.

What drives or motivates you ?
The competition, wanting to be better than I was yesterday.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I smell like a fish, trimethylaminuria…

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Read Sci-Fi and play on my computer.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
It is all about mat time. Train as much as possible.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably want to teach school or never would have left the Army.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
No, just another day. I don’t really do training camps, I am always training/teaching.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5 years ?
Hopefully a Fighter’s Union so that we can protect ourselves from the dark side of the sport.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Grinding away more wins in my career and creating world champions at my gym.

What do you think can change moving forward to make mma better as a sport ?
A Fighters Union. Fighting experience to qualify as a judge and a better scoring system.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Jacare

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My training partners and coaches, couldn’t do any of this without their time and effort. It takes a team to build a champion. My sponsors for sticking with me: Tigatu Clothing, Cruz Combat, Hit Supplements and Fight Path. I would like to thank my family too for showing such great support and love for me.

