This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 14th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Matt Lozano
Nickname – SMG
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 7 wins 3 losses
Team – Gracie 717

Where are you from ?
Lancaster PA.

How long have you been training ?
going on 6 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I remember watching fights with my brother and family. I started after I had gone to a local event that had a grappling tournament I competed with no experience and submitted a guy by arm bar and then got triangled. I tracked down that guy and trained at his gym that he owned…interesting that he was going with beginners. Haha! That’s a short version.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
SMG is actually an acronym for my XBL gamer tag. Around the time of my first ammy fight friends were asking what my “fight name” was going to be and I wanted to earn a name not just be given one so I told them no name just yet. Sometime during the fight an SMG chant started and its stuck.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
Right after my sister smacked me in the eye with a yo-yo. I knew if I could dodge a yo-yo I could dodge a punch. It was never a moment just a logical progression.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family and friends are super supportive, I guess that’s why promoters like me.

What is your current record ?
7-3.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
popular opinion I would say the Inverted triangle. I personally like knees, they hurt.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My kids because they don’t care about fighting.

What team do you train with ?
Gracie717 has welcomed me with open arms. I still have a soft spot for my family at NG they have some killers that I love getting work with.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I prefer to stand but I don’t mind the ground when I’m feeling good I’m happy everywhere.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I feel like I’m learning about myself. Challenging myself was something I didn’t do until I started training and competing.

What weight do you fight at ? 125 that’s the Flyweight division for those that don’t know.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think my body type lends to my success. Maybe some mental illness I’ve never felt out matched or out gunned in a fight and I’m getting better all the time.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’ll say that if you want to be the best, you want to fight the best.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Demacio was a tough vet for sure he made me pay for my inexperience and lack of focus in my fight camp.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I hope they want to stand and trade a few punches before becoming a wrestler.

Who are you fighting next ?
Cleveland Mclean not sure on the spelling.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
I’m assuming that he’s the best everywhere because I train to be the best me and I don’t see many people being able to overcome that.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
WCC

Date and time of your next fight ?
August 13th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Doing something that benefitted someone or something other than myself. If I can’t manage that I’ll settle for having exciting fights.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
#Cantstopwantstop

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I feel like that’s something to look back on when I’m out of the game. I feel like I’ve done nothing.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My brother he helps keep me focused.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Diaz brothers they show what you need to do in order to be successful and beating the guys who they were thrown in to lose against shows that the fighters make the sport.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Like when you’re the only person doing a dance move.

What drives or motivates you ?
My kids and not wanting to lose.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m quiet so they probably won’t hear it anyway.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time in your free time ?
Spending time with my kids, cooking is cool and I like art so I’m usually doing something relaxing.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Challenge yourself and don’t let people get in your ear with the hype. Hard work is what matters you work for success you don’t inherit success in the fight game, anyone can be hyped and get exposed.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I’d like to think I can cook so maybe a chef after some schooling.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
I think being afraid to fight.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that got you ready to go to battle ?
I have a few but I can only remember them during fight week. It’s weird.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5-10 years ?
Talent wise, oh dear, I see it full of killers that I want nothing to do with. Promotion wise I see it up with Major League sports.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Robbie Lawler.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ? My brothers Soku and The Crow always good vibes talking to them around fight time. The ones who support me and show love sponsors are scarce.

To stay up to date with all the latest news from Matt click the link below and go hit the like button on his fan page.
https://www.facebook.com/MMASMG/

