This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 15th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Bill Jones
Nickname – Jonesi
Weight – 145 pounds
Record – 12 wins 10 losses
Team – Nostos MMA

Where are you from ?
I am from Berwick Maine.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training MMA for 8 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I had my first fight a month into training. i was training 2 days a week for the first month so i probably had 24 hours of gym time. It felt amazing and everyone loved it.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
Growing up as a kid I was always fighting almost every day off the bus. I took martial arts as a young kid but didn’t stick with it.My father was a drunk and wanted me working and driving his truck around to different jobs so he could drink so he took me out of school in my freshman year.We worked together most of my teenage years back and forth from my job now at halls roofing.I started smoking cigarettes at around 12 and it’s always been a nail in my back my whole MMA career. I always said to myself im just trying it If I get my ass kicked ill quit. I never did.I just always did well Now i am 37 years old and I feel like i never really gave it an honest effort

Where your family and friends supportive when you decided to compete in MMA ?
My boss hates me fighting my family loves it.
They like the money the fame and all around sportsmanship of it.

I love the sport just never really had the full-time schedule to put in honest camps.
I quit smoking 9 months ago. And started training regularly on top of my 6 day work week. Nobody works like me. Not one person in MMA roofs 6 days a week and is in the gym after. It just doesn’t fit in their lives. Roofers are a hard bunch i deal with a whole different lifestyle with roofers they are all around tough guys. My best friend’s we push each other like a mma team in itself.
Like i said nobody works like i do.

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting Joe Pingitore. For my next fight live on AXS TV. It’s so fucking awesome to finally get the chance to put this big mouth on his back and smash some sense into him.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
He thinks I’m an old man at 37 years old lol. I will be in better shape than this kid when im 48 years old lol. Maybe ill give him another shot after I beat his ass this time.
I hate it when guys run their mouths. Especially a young punk like him

What drives or motivates you ?
My family and kids drive me.

Your backstage your music plays what is going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
The feeling I get when I walk out is its my time to shine kill or be killed.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Don’t half ass it.

Do you like to stand and strike or do you prefer taking the fight to the ground ?
I like to ground and pound now that I don’t smoke I am looking forward to striking a lot more.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
Winning the Cage Titans belt and CFX belt.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Matt Bessette was my toughest fight.

what is your mindset going in to this fight ?
I will not lose on the 12th. I said i was done fighting after my last fight because the cigarettes got to me for the first time. And not giving a fuck at that point in life about MMA at all. My father died two months ago, and the last thing he put on my wall was a picture of me winning the 145 championship. And he said go win one more for me. So to me there nothing i can do after i prepare for this fight that can get in my way of winning. Not even joe ping!! Train hard joe im coming in swinging.

