July 16th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Ricardo Funch
Nickname – Golden Boy
Weight – 170 pounds
Record – 9 wins 5 losses
Team – Team Link Ludlow

Where are you from ?
I am from Brazil originally.

How long have you been training ?
have been training for 10 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA by accident, a friend of mine showed me a Jiu Jitsu training video and I just got hooked instantly.

Tell us about your nickname Golden Boy and how you got it ?
an opponent actually gave me that, he called me out once using that, then it just stuck on me.

When did you know you wanted to be a fighter what was your defining moment ?
I knew I wanted to become a fighter watching those tapes, and some old UFC tapes as well.

When you decided to actively pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive ?
I didn’t tell my mom for almost 4 years, she’s very hippie and hates violence, my dad knew right away and he was cool with it.

What is your current record ?
My record is 9-5.

what is your favorite strike or submission?
I like both equally actually.

Who has been your biggest inspiration ?
my biggest inspiration for a while was 2005 shogun, that was the best fighter ever for me.

What team do you train with ?
I train with team link in Ludlow.

Do you like to stand and bang with your opponent or do you prefer taking the fight to the ground ?
it depends, I fight with strategy, so I execute what I think will be better for that particular fight.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
honestly not much, I just do it because it’s interesting and fun, I don’t do it for pride or anything like that, it’s a test for me.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at welterweight.

What separates you from other fighters ?
The fact that I’m not great at one thing, I just do everything well and can transition from one style to another without too much effort.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Anderson silva.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Not sure, maybe my first since I was very scared lol.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
I’m calm, focused, don’t really let emotions get to me .

Who are you fighting next ?
I’m fighting Matt Secor.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
That I won’t say because I don’t want him reading this lol.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’m fighting for PFC (Premier FC)

Date and time of your next fight ?
July 30th, not sure what time.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Not sure, maybe as a good sportsman, hard worker.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
There are many, but one that recently meant a lot to me was one by late father Daniel Berrigan ” idolatry is paid to property over the cheapening of human life” I think it’s so true for our society today as it has been always…

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Fighting for the UFC for sure.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach Marco Alvan.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
So many greats, difficult to say.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My style is keeping the pressure on.

What drives or motivates you ?
What motivates me is the challenge, to test myself against another alpha male.

What is something people might not know about you ?
It’s a secret that’s why they don’t know lol.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I like any adrenaline related sport.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Do it while you find fun it, if you lose it, it’s not worth it anymore.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had not become a fighter ?
Not sure, probably continue my academic career.

What gets you ready to head to the cage ?
The challenge is motivation enough.

Where do you see MMA as a sport in 5 years ?
In 5 years I see the sport being the number 1 sport around the world.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
On a beach somewhere.

What changes do you think can be made moving forward to make the sport better ?
Better anti doping methods to make it safer.

Who is your favorite Fighter ?
2005 Shogun.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
shout out to my teammates and coach for getting me ready, and for the fans that make it so fun for us.

