This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

July 17th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Matt Secor
Weight – 170 pounds
Record – 7 wins 3 losses
Team – Eddie Fyvie JiuJitsu Academy

Where are you from ?
I am from South Glens Falls NY.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training 8 years.

How did you get in to mma ?
Brazilian Jiu Jitsu is what got me into mixed martial arts.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I don’t have a nickname.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
There really isn’t one, I have been a fighter since I was a child.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
They were 100% supportive with anything I did.

What is your current record ?
7-3.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Anything that works.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My wife and my son are what inspire me.

What team do you train with ?
I train at Eddie Fyvie Jiu Jitsu Academy

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m always looking for an opportunity to take it to the ground. It’s where I’m more comfortable.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
That’s a hard question to answer because I’ve always been a fighter but fighting is my life.

What weight do you fight at ?
I am a welterweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
My good looks, my heart and work ethic.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I want to fight the best in the world.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Nordene Taleb who’s currently in the UFC but most of my fights are tough.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Strictly positive, not a single doubt in my mind.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Ricardo Funch.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I do not know because I only care on how I perform.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am fighting for Premier Fc.

Date and time of your next fight ?
I am fighting July 30th in the main event.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
My legacy.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Perspective is reality.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Coming back after breaking my leg.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I would have to say Eddie Fyvie.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I’m actually not a fan of mma I’ve never paid close attention to the sport.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I am a Jiu Jitsu practitioner.

What drives or motivates you ?
My family always has been my motivation.

What is something people might not know about you ?
Actually I am an open book I have nothing to hide.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Spend time with family.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Consistency and hard work .

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I honestly have never thought about that. I couldn’t tell you.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I have none, I trust my training.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
I have no idea.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Back in the UFC fighting for the title.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Paying the fighters more money.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Myself.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to give a shout out to my family.

