This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Joe Pingitore
Nickname – Lights Out
Weight – 145 pounds
Record – 6 wins 1 loss 1 draw
Team – Tri-Force MMA

Where are you from ?
Born and raised in Johnston RI, now living in Providence.

How long have you been training ?
I started training in 2009 after my senior year wrestling season concluded.

How did you get in to MMA?
It all started with my wrestling coach taking me to a small MMA practice after our season was over. In the beginning I was only doing it to stay in shape and stay active throughout college.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I believe “Lights Out” was given to me by Tom Evans around my 6th or 7th ammature fight. I had just knocked out Nate Oses 42 seconds in the 1st round and the name pretty much stuck with me. Besides the fight name my childhood nickname has always been Ping (short for my last name Pingitore).

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
My first fight I ever had been held at Indian Ranch for Peter Rogers card. I was only about 2 or 3 months into training and my team threw me to the wolves. They wouldn’t even tell me my opponents name, they just wanted me to go out there and do what I do best, which at the time consisted of throwing wild bombs and out-wrestling everybody haha. I always said if I lost that day I would never fight again. I hate losing more than anything in this world. Turns out I was fighting a 32-year-old kick boxer with already 2 fights under his belt. I just turned 18 and pretty sure I didn’t even have facial hair then… I beat him in the first round by arm bar and continued in the 3 fight tournament to win the whole thing.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
It was split, my dad loved it. My mom was worried. As far as my friends go we’ve been fighting in the neighborhoods since middle school so it was nothing new to see me throw down.

What is your current record ?
6-1-1

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Whatever gets the job done. Shout out to Diamond Daves Boxing

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Bill Jones.

What team do you train with ?
Tri-Force MMA.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I’m skilled to finish the fight where ever it may go so no preference.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I love that pure 1 vs 1 competition that’s tests me mentally and physically more than anything I’ve ever had to do before. I live for the war.

What weight do you fight at ?
145lbs

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
nothing at all. The New England featherweight Top 10s are full of talent. I view it as a really advanced, fast paced chess match. I just happen to play the game very well.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Connor McGregor for sure. He’s a savage.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Darrion Caldwell for Bellator, however he’s now 9-0 and Fighting for the Bantamweight world championship so maybe I’ll get a rematch one day.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
The last thing that usually goes through my head is “fuck it.” Throw bombs and put a show on for the fans, that’s all I really care about.

Who are you fighting next ?
Bill Jones.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
His cardio and striking seemed to doom him last fight, I’m looking to exploit those issues. Hopefully he’s ran a few more miles in preparation for this one.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
CES MMA live on AXS TV.

Date and time of your next fight ?
August 12th 7:00pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
No body remembers a loser. I’m here to win. The fans create your legacy.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it’s the size of the fight in the dog.”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Turning pro at 21 years old and fighting for CES in my home town in front of RI!

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
All my coaches here at Tri-Force MMA who recognized the raw talent I had and decided to mold me into what I am becoming as a fighter today.

What is something people might not know about you ?
it’s started to come to light now in recent interviews but I’ve been and EMT in RI the past 7 years and continue to as my full-time job.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Just relaxing with my girlfriend, friends, and rest of my fam living life to the fullest.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Most important thing is to keep your training up even when you’re not in fight camp.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
All of my focus would be improving my skills in the medical field.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
The adrenaline rush. It’s addicting.

Do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I use to when I had the same mouth piece I used for football and wrestling. But after I lost it I gave up the rituals because it really doesn’t matter. What matters is the training camp and your skills.

Where do you see the sport of mma in 5 years ?
hopefully professional athletes being compensated just like a pro football or basketball player.

What do you think can change moving forward to make mma better as a sport ?
I think we need more unionization as fighters just as other single sport athletes like golf.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Shout out to everyone at Tri Force! Pete and Keith Jeffeys, my boxing coach Diamond Dave, Greg Rebello for his guidance, and all my training partners across RI and SYT.

Make sure to click the link below and follow Joe on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/PingitoreMMA

