This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 25th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Kerri Kenneson
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 1 win 1 loss
Team – Team Link Hooksett NH

Where are you from ?
Concord, NH

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training MMA for 3 years. I started Tae Kwon Do when I was a little girl and later as a teenager and early 20’s studied Kempo, which I hold a 1st degree black belt in, and some Kung Fu.

How did you get in to MMA ?
Fighting competitively is something I’ve always wanted to do. It was in the back of my mind for a very long time, until the day I said that’s it, I’m doing this.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t have a nickname yet 😞 kare bear was always my nickname growing up, but that’s a little too cuddly for this sport lol so we’ll see.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
The first live event I went to watch one of my teammates fight. I remember the feeling I had watching him in the cage. My palms were sweating, my heart was beating out of my chest, I was so pumped up. I knew that’s where I wanted to be.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes definitely, everyone in my life has been very supportive, even the ones who can’t bring themselves to watch it lol

What is your current record ?
1-1

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Arm bars and triangles, all day long haha.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My Dad, I know I’m making him proud up there wherever he is. And everyone else who is in my corner every day.

What team do you currently train with ?
Team Link Hooksett NH

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to be on the ground.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is continuously conquering yourself, both physically and mentally. Self-improvement is a necessity. Overcoming fear and self-doubt is a necessity. To be successful you must be able to pick yourself back up after failures. All things that can translate into other aspects of life.

What weight do you fight at ?
125lb

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m almost 5′ 7″ so taller and I believe physically stronger than most of the 125ers around

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Honestly, I don’t care who, as long as it’s a big deal.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My last fight was a 3 round war, she was tough and we put on a good show.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Well I’ve only gone into two fights..one I was very amped and very serious, and the other I was pretty calm and relaxed. Calm worked out better for me lol.

Who are you fighting next ?
Lisa Blaine.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can expose ?
Really not sure, I haven’t been able to see much footage on her. But that’s fine, I’ll expose it either way.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Premier FC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
July 30th fights start at 7pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as a well-rounded true martial artist. Humble, respectful, and lethal.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My head coach Ed Carr and all my coaches and teammates.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
If we’re talking WMMA I’m sure we can all agree Rousey skyrocketed it’s popularity, she certainly had an impact on me in the beginning, and inspired a whole new generation of fighters.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Grappler/ground and pound.

What drives or motivates you ?
Lots of things, but I guess in this sport utilizing my talent and reaching my potential, and hopefully getting to a place where I can help others do the same.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I had the amazing opportunity to travel to China and train and perform at the Shaolin Temple, twice actually.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I don’t think that would have been an option 🙂 But I suppose the same thing I do now, which is special education, working with kiddos with Autism.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Nothing too crazy, just listen to music. Oh and give a couple of goodluck rubs to my buddha beads I got at the Shaolin Temple.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
This is it…

Who is your favourite fighter ?
GSP.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I’m not sure what free time is? Hah.. I just like to relax, I like doing just about anything outside, being near water, watching movies, repurposing stuff.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I think coming back from losing my first fight. I was devastated. But it made me a better fighter, and I’m proud of what I accomplished coming back.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
I think for women who want to start the sport it could be intimidating stepping into a male dominated gym for many reasons.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
If there is something inside you that you want, follow your heart. You’ll never regret following your heart. Oh and work your ass off until you get it.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5 years ?
Of course bigger and bigger, more talent, more women’s divisions in big shows, and a 125lb division in the UFC. Wink wink.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
At the peak of my career and doing big things.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goal is to just ride the wave, take this sport as far as I can go, for as long as I can go, passion and body willing.
Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Sham, mom, my bro, my Team Link fam, friends, let’s do this!

