This slideshow requires JavaScript.

July 26th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Davon Zimmerman
Nickname – Quiet Storm
Weight – 155 pounds
Record – 3 wins 4 losses
Team – Renzo Gracie

Where are you from ?
I’m from a small town in Connecticut called Ansonia. Not at all known for its Martial Arts but more for football which the town goes nuts for lol.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve only been training since 2014. My competition is lucky to have such experience above me. I blame my childhood for keeping me away from something so lovable ❤

How did you get in to MMA ?
I fell in love with this sport at the innocent age of 14. To bad i wasn’t really innocent though lol. If I stayed out of the streets maybe I would have peaked enough interest to actually look in to finding a place to train. At that age all I knew was the fast life and didn’t know there were gyms that could teach you this stuff. Come to think about it they probably should have advertised a bit more towards my community. I’m betting the earlier I would have found MMA the better off i would have been lmao.
Some kid came to my job with a broken thumb and when I asked about it (because I’m so freaking nosey) he told me he was training Jiu  Jitsu at a Renzo Gracie gym. I asked him where because it immediately sparked my interest.. Then I visit the gym and trained for one day and signed up and bought a GI before i left 🙂

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I just got my nick name a couple of months ago. Quiet Storm! My mom gave me the name because she says im quiet and humble. The funny thing is I’m really not. But don’t tell her that because i’m mommy’s little angel lol 🙂

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I made that decision when I watched the sport as a kid. I just didn’t have the knowledge required to get involved.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career where your family and friends supportive ?
They thought I was crazy until they saw me compete and take home medals. But who cares whats others think lol .

What is your current record ?
3 – 4 I know what you’re thinking. Wow he’s a beast! lol.

What is your favorite strike ans submission ?
I love the jab standing and whatever I can grab on the ground honestly . My last fight I went for a Omaplata in MMA. Had I gotten it I would have did my fight speech at the end DROPPED the MIC and walked out of the cage like a BOSS! lol

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I’m inspired by those that work hard and like to help others while bettering them selves.

What team do you train with ?
Renzo Gracie Oss!

Do you prefer standing and throwing hands with your opponent or taking the fight to the ground ?
I love to stand and dance. Nothing like a Jab, Jab, straight to make you feel connected to your opponent.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means a lot. Every man should know how to do this. I love to compete too.It’s by far one of THE Greatest feelings.

What weight do you fight at ?
155 I’m a fat ass.

What separates you from other fighters ?
I’m still trying to find that out but so far it’s my attitude. I don’t really give a s*** Win or lose I’m the same person. I don’t talk junk because this is a sport to me one that I LOVE.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
I haven’t thought about that ever! I don’t really like questions like these. No offense I just don’t give a F*** who I fight I just really wanna compete and destroy everything moving. Respectively that is

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Codie Payne was really tough everywhere. You have to be well-rounded in this sport and he is. Big shout out to Codie Payne from ATT White Stone OSS!

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Why am I not nervous lol.
Honestly I don’t get nervous it’s weird and uncomfortable.

Who are you fighting next ?
Jesse Kowasomething his last name is hard but yo Check it. Kids an Animal for sure. I mean you gotta see him grapple…Sick lol.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can expose ?
I don’t see any holes or weaknesses. These are the kind of fights that I like. because it will force me to think like a game of chess

Date and time of your next fight ?
July 30th at The MassMutual Center in Springfield MA

Is there anyone you want to shout out to or thank ?
Premier FC Big Shout out to Karyn Wesch.

