August 1st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Jemma Thomas
Nickname – Mighty Mouse
Weight – 115 Pounds
Record – 6 wins 3 losses
Team – Dominic king Judo and MMA Academy

 

Where are you from ?
I am from Great Yarmouth Norfolk, England.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training in Judo for 20 years, and Boxing and MMA for about 4 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I got into MMA when my judo coach started a mma club I decided to have a go and have been training ever since.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Mighty Mouse, an old boss nicknamed me at as he thought I was strong for a female.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I have wanted to fight ever since I first started judo, it’s just something that is part of me.I love to fight and progress within the sport.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
They don’t fully understand MMA and why anyone would want to get in a cage haha.

What is your current record ?
My current ammy MMA record is 6-3.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite submission is the kimura.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration has to be Ronda Rousey, she brought women’s MMA a whole new level, and her use of judo in mma really inspires me.

What team do you currently train with ?
I train with the Dominic king judo and ma academy, and box with Norwich Golden Gloves

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to go to the ground, but i have really been working on my boxing to try to become a more all rounded fighter
What does being fighter mean to you
I gives me a sense of purpose and a reason to train and keep fit. it what I think about most and it drives me to achieve as much as i can within the sport

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at strawweight (115 pounds)

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
my height disadvantage haha, hopefully my judo skills and determination to never give up.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Not to sure, who ever is at the top of my weight division once i turn pro.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
so far it has been bryony tyrell, she was well prepared and had a big height advantage and worked a good game plan

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I think about how i want the fight to end and just concentrate on my game plan.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am currently looking for my next fight, im ready for my next one.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I would like to be remembered as being a really tough fight for anyone and hopefully be remembered as a champion

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
I would have to say all my coaches.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Ronda Rousey.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe my style as a grappler

What drives or motivates you ?
What motivates me is knowing that I have put everything into fighting and other than that i don’t do much else.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I think I probably would just be working a normal job and have a boring life.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
No not really, i like to watch a good inspirational film, and listen to a bit of motivational music.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
I just think its time to show everyone what ive been working on, and its time to shine.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Ronday Rousey I follow all her fights.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to do normal things like going to the cinema and going out for meals.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning the UCMMA strawweight ammy title.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
the biggest challenge is lack of women in the sport, making it hard to find opponents so we don’t get to fight as often as the men.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Just follow your dreams and train hard, keep going as women’s MMA is getting bigger and bigger.

Where do you see women’s MMA in the next 5 years ?
I see it continuing to evolve and hopefully as popular for women as it is for men.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
In the UFC.

What are your goals within the sport ?
My goals are to achieve as much as possible to keep training hard and to take on tough opponents and start getting onto the big shows.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Elite MMA Agency, and my sponsors, Almighty Fightwear, the Active Clinic and Bwell Gym.

