August 2nd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Matthew Anderson
Nickname – The Kid
Weight – 135 Pounds
Record – 5 wins 3 losses
Team – Eatonville Martial Arts Center
Where are you from ?
I am from Roy Washington.

How long have you been training ?
For about 4 years now.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I started playing the UFC 2010 game, I had never heard of MMA before, but playing that game I fell in love with it! I Found a gym and started training.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nick name is “The Kid” I got the name cause wHen I started fighting I was 14, I was a “Kid”.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
The Gym became my happy place, training when I could and fighting when I could, my first couple OF fights I lost but that was not stopping me, I have goals and I’m accomplishing them slowly.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes they where, in fact my moms boyfriend said as a joke “I wouldn’t mind watching you get your ass kicked” they show up to most of my fights and always support me. My moms boyfriend is one of the loudest fans out there!

What is your current record ?
In MMAI’m 5-3

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I have a nasty left hook and my favorite submission has to be the calf crusher.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration has to be everyone in the MMA game. They inspire me to keep pushing and get better because I wanna be better than them someday.

What team do you train with ?
Eatonville Martial Art Center! #WOLFPACK

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Over the years my stand up has gotten so much better! I like to keep the gift standing but if it goes to the ground I have a good ground game too.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means to train hard! Show people why they should keep an eye on me. I wanna be the best. Also being a fighter means to be respectful and kind to everyone. Even in the cage. Maybe not when that bell rings but before and after you should always show some love to your opponent for having the guts to step in there and throw leather.

What weight do you fight at ?
135 lbs.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I’m young and I have a lot to learn! I will slowly make my way to the top and learn a lot while I’m heading there!

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I wanna fight Dominic Cruz! He is a great fighter and so technical!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
my toughest fight had to be my second MMA fight against my Omar Ramos, he was a tough kid and kept bringing the pressure but I did what I had to do to win.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
My mindset is that I’m gonna do whatever it takes to win! I stay calm and relaxed too.

Who are you fighting next ?
Not sure but we are working on a fight in September.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
Again I can’t answer this yet cause I don’t know who I’m fighting yet.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Reign FC.

Date and time of your next fight ?
September 3rd at 7:30.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I wanna be known as the kid who always brought it! The kid who had ups and downs but pushed through . I wanna be known as a true respectful champion.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Jesus didn’t Tap”
I love this it inspires me to not give up!

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my first MMA title at 135 lbs July 16th 2016.
Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Brad pole! He is my coach and has helped me and loved me from day one, he sees big things from me in the future.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Connor McGregor, he has brought MMA to a viral level , he sells fights and he is good!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’m a well-rounded fighter, I like to finish my fights and I like to do it in spectacular fashion.

What drives or motivates you ?
Becoming a UFC champion! Seeing the UFC champs motivates me to train harder.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a twin brother who is nothing like me. We both have different mind sets and personalities.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I like to be outdoors, camping, fishing, boating, hiking it just relaxes me and I love it!

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Start training and don’t let a loss bring you down! When I got in the sport I would lose a couple then win then lose. But after about 3 years of that I’m now on a 4 fight winning streak, 3 of those where 1st round finishes and another was a 2nd round finish.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
To be honest I have no clue! Probably be fat or in the military.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Before a fight I warm up a little, then relax and then I listen to music and try to stay relaxed, before I walk out I pray then I smack my face a little and get pumped!

Where do you see the sport of MMA  in 5 years ?
In 5 years I see it getting bigger, as big as boxing, more promotions and more fighters.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years
I see myself turning pro in 5 years after wiping out all the amatures in my weight class.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I think there should be more drug test to fighters.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Mighty Mouse Johnson.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank all my teammates, my coach Brad Pole, my family, my fans, and my sponsors C.P.G. designs, Defense soap, and I wanna shout out Wicked Royalty, they are amazing people and you all should go check them out! I also wanna thank monster graphics for the fight banners, and I wanna again thank everyone at EMAC for helping me get better! #WOLFPACK

