August 3, 2016

 

Fighter Profile

Name – Sebastian Getchell

Nickname – The Southpaw Outlaw

Weight – 95 Pounds

Record – 4 wins 0 losses

Team – Fearless MMA

 

Where are you from?

I’m from Janesville Wisconsin.

 

How old are you and how long have you been training?

I’m 12 years old and I have been training for almost 7 years!

 

How did you get in to MMA?

I began MMA because my older brother started!

 

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it?

My nick name is “The Southpaw Outlaw” and got it from my training partner because I’m a lefty!

 

What was the one moment for you when you knew you wanted to be a fighter?

I knew I wanted to be fighters after watching my older brother fight his first fight!

 

When you decided to compete in MMA what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive?

Almost everyone has supported me from parents to teachers and my friends!

 

What is your current record?

I’m currently 4-0 in youth pankration for Duke Roufus’s now defunked NAFC!

 

What is your favorite strike and submission?

My favorite strike is the step side kick targeting the body and liver(southpaw) and my favorite submission is whatever is available!

 

Who is your biggest inspiration?

My biggest inspiration is Vegeta from DBZ!

 

Where do you like to take the fight do you like to keep it standing or go to the ground ?

I prefer to stand and bang!

 

What does being a fighter mean to you?

Being a fighter to me means I’m not like anyone else I’m able to be me!

 

What weight do you fight at ?

I currently fight at 95 pounds but more often than not fight well above my weight!

 

What separates you from other fighters?

What separates me from others in my division is I am a day 1 true MMA student! I train all disciplines!

 

If you could pick one dream fight who would it be against?

If I could fight one person Id want to fight myself!

 

Who has been your toughest opponent to date?

So far my toughest opponent has been Xander whom I fought twice in the cage! I won both but he was very determined to beat me both times!

 

What is your mindset going into a fight?

I generally stay calm before a fight and have even been known to nap during physicals or waiting periods! I don’t waste any energy before the fight!

 

Who are you fighting next?

I don’t have any fights lined up but I am planning on entering the Chicago Summer Grappling Games in Sept and New Breed Crystal Cup in Oct!

 

What promotions have you competed for ?

I have fought for the now defunked NAFC in Milwaukee but now mainly focus on Submission Grappling tournaments!

 

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career?

I hope at the end of my career I’m known for being cold! I show little to no emotion before, during and after a match!

 

What is your favorite quote or motto ?

I love almost all Bruce Lee quotes no favorite.

 

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport?

My biggest accomplishment has been my getting my IBJJF orange/blackbelt and being featured on Inside MMA on AXS  Tv with Bas Rutten.

 

Who has been most influential to you in your career?

.My coach Patrick Delgado has been the most influential in my career. He’s like family now!

 

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport?

I feel that the Gracie family and Royce in general have been most influential! Without them there would be no MMA as we know it!

 

How would you describe your fighting style?

My style is mostly a counter attack! I want you to attack and I make you pay! On the ground I prefer to tire you out and drag you into deep water than capitalize on mistakes!

 

What motivates you?

I’m motivated by improvement! I can always learn and improve every day!

 

What is something people might not know about you?

People might not know that I play the clarinet in the school band and have been awarded the President Obama award for educational excellence.

 

When you are not training and competing what do you enjoy doing in your free time?

In my free time I like to draw DBZ characters and watch DBZ episodes! Xbox!!!

 

What advice can you give to other young fighters?

My advice to young folks starting to train is stick with it! Don’t give up! Believe in yourself!

 

What do you think you would be doing if you had never picked up MMA?

If I didn’t train MMA id probably do soccer!

 

 

What gets you hyped up and ready to fight?

Before I fight I am most amped up when I look into my opponent eyes at weigh in! I

 

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years?

I hope in 10 years time I have had a great run as a fighter and can open my own gym!

 

Who is your favorite fighter?

My favorite fighter currently is Fedor!

 

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to?

I’d like to give a shout out to all my family at Fearless MMA in Janesville and especially Patrick Delgado! Without Pat none of us would be as good as we can be!

 

 

