August 4th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Marshall Getchell
Nickname – The Dragon
Record – 5 wins 0 losses
Weight – 146 pounds
Team – Fearless MMA

What is your name and where are you from ?
My name is Marshall Getchell and I’m from Janesville Wisconsin.

How old are you and how long have you been training ?
I’m 14 yrs old.Ive been training for almost 7 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
I started MMA because we went to get take-out and had to wait so we walked over to the local gym to kill time!

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I am known as “The Dragon” and adapted this from Bruce Lee as I imitated him often!

What was the defining moment when you knew you wanted to be a fighter ?
I knew I wanted to be a fighter when I won my first fight against a much more experienced opponent! I wasn’t supposed to win!

When you decided to compete what was the reaction where your family and friends supportive of you ?
Everyone has supported me as I do this!

What is your current record ?
I’m currently 5-0 in youth pankration with all wins by submission!

What is your favorite strike and submission ?
My favorite strike is the TKD roundhouse kick! I can end it with just one if it hits you! My favorite submission is the one you let me have!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is Bruce Lee!

What team do you train with ?
I train at Fearless MMA in Janesville Wi under LCCT blackbelt Patrick Delgado!

Do you like to keep your fights standing or take it to the ground ?
I prefer to take the fight to the ground! Heavy pressure from the top and impose my will! I love to smash!

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
I don’t see myself as a “fighter” I’m a Martial Artist who loves to fight! Sportsmanship is most important!

What weight do you fight at ?
I’m currently 146 but my last fight and wrestling season I competed at 135!

What separates you from other fighters ?
I believe what separates me from the others is my desire to win and my dedication to training and learning! I will not be outworked!

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
If I could fight anyone it probably be Goku from DBZ otherwise Bruce Lee!

Who has been your toughest opponent ?
My toughest opponent to date has been Freddie Perez! I beat him as a fill in and won when no one expected it! 1 year later I had a rematch with him in his hometown in front of all his people and submitted him again! No one cheered me as I walked out but when I left the cage they all stood and applauded us! We fought our hearts out!

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset for all matches is WIN!

Who are you fighting next ?
No fights lined up yet but I’m busy getting my coach ready for his pro fight!

What promotion do you compete for ?
No current promotion but I now compete for the IBJJF at BJJ and Submission tournaments!

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
My favorite quote is ” You may take my body and you may take my mind but the one thing you can never take from me is my PRIDE” Vegeta.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
When I’m done with my career I want to be known as one of the greatest ever! Id like to surpass Fedors legend!

What has been your biggest accomplishment ?
My biggest accomplishment besides my undefeated streak is when I lost by being put to sleep by my opponent and I then trained harder than ever to rematch him 6 months later at another NAGA and ended up beating him for the belt that day despite being sick with the flu!

Who has been the biggest influence on you as a martial artist ?
The most influential person in my career so far has been my Dad! Hes always been in my corner!

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I feel Bruce Lee has influenced MMA more than everyone! Every MMA fighter has loved and been in awe of Bruce!

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is the I impose my will on you style! I like to take you down hard and smash your will!

What motivates you ?
I’m motivated to be the best! I don’t just want to be the champ but I want my own wing in the HOF!

What is something people may not know about you ?
People may not know that I use DBZ in my lifestyle and really admire Gokus heart!

When you are not training and competing what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
When I’m not training I like to do the same things other 14 year olds do!

What advice can you give to other young fighters ?
My advice to others thinking of becoming an MMA fighter is to try your best and always believe in yourself!

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never set foot in that gym ?
If I wasn’t training in MMA I would probably be fat and lazy!

Do you have any prefight rituals that prepare you for your fights ?
Before my fights I like to watch fight movies like Rocky and go to my grammas and get blessed by Buddhist monks!

Where do you see MMA as a sport in the next 5-10 years ?
In the next 5-10 years MMA will be more widely accepted and respected! Maybe even an Olympic event!

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is the Joanna Jedrzejczyk! Shes a killer!

Is there anyone you want to thank or send a shout out to ?
Id like to give a shout out to all the family at Fearless MMA, my coaches Ben Gladem and Pat Delgado as well as my strength coach Daniel Finn.

