August 8th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Melinda Oberlin
Nickname – Merciless
Weight – 145 Pounds
Record – 8 wins 2 losses
Team – Murcielago MMA

Where are you from ?
I am from Jackson Michigan.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training for about 3 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
I used to be extremely heavy with my weight. Like 215 pounds heavy with the lowest self-esteem so I decided to do something about it. I had heard of a gym called Jackson MMA through a friend of my sisters and decided to give it a try. Fell in love the first day.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname was given to me by Walter Lamb, my coaches instructor. He said I showed no mercy in the cage so he honored me with the nickname “Merciless”.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
My defining moment was probably my defining moment. Most people in that situation would choose to get out when all I wanted to do was get back in. Fight or flight and I was 100% ready to fight.

When you decided to compete in MMA what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive ?
They are and have always been my biggest supporters. My grandmother and mother are typically the loudest ones in the crowd lol. It did take my father a while to warm up to it. I still remember him sitting from row at my first title fight, gripping his hands together and eyes as wide as ever, scared to death ha!

What is your current record ?
8-2.

What is your favorite strike ?
SUPERMAN!! Simple but fun.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My daughters. I want them to see woman are strong and fearless too and that with hard work, dedication, and drive they can do anything their hearts desire.

What team do you train with ?
Murcielago MMA in Lansing, MI.

Where do you like the fight to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I’m pretty sure everyone knows I like to stand but honestly with the coaches and teammates at Murcielago, my fight game has become more versatile.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means a lot. I feel as though we are held to a higher standard in certain situations. We are taught discipline and self-control. It’s a responsibility to uphold and it’s an honor to be a martial artist.

What weight do you fight at ?
I’ve fought at 160, 155 and 145. (current weight class)

What separates you from other fighters ?
Probably my length. I’m tall and have a very long reach.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Gina carano. She’s a monster and kind of my lady crush. 😉

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Tough question. All my opponents have challenged me one way or another.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Kill or be killed.

Who are you fighting next ?
Miranda Dearing from American Top Team.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
Honestly she’s solid all around. I’m working more on strengthening my weaknesses to get better rather than worrying about her. I’ll find her weakness.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Knockout Promotions 50.

Date of your next fight ?
August 27th.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered as my nickname states, merciless. That I never held back and always left it all in the cage.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
There’s many people who fall under this. Coaches, teammates, my family, anyone who pushes me to be better is influential.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on MMA ?
For females? Probably Rhonda Rousey.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Fighting style is Muay Thai. I like to brawl.

What drives or motivates you ?
Again, my daughters ha! They are my motivation for everything in my life. My oldest cheers me on at practice and always tell me to “keep going mom! You can do it!” There’s no bigger motivation than that.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never found MMA ?
No clue. I have a feeling I would have found MMA in some way.

What gets you ready to step in the cage do you have any rituals that help prepare you ?
I try to stay calm mostly and ask myself what I’m willing to do to win and how to do it.

Your backstage your music plays whats going through your head as you walk out to the cage ?
“Here goes nothing,” that’s about the best way to describe it ha!

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter is any female that steps in that cage. We all are opponents but we are strong and need to stick together and build.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I spend time with my family and I work a full-time job.

What has been your biggest accomplishment so far in your career ?
Being the first female to hold the Jackson championship. They bought the belt just for my bout and I won. Best win of my career. 🙂

What do you think the biggest challenges are for female competitors in MMA ?
Being taken seriously. People don’t see women as strong as men so it’s a set back.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
Push. Always! Even when you don’t want too.

Where do you see women’s MMA in 5 years ?
Hopefully with a wider range of weight classes in the higher professional leagues. We can’t all be Itty bitty flyweight.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In 5 years, I’d hope to be a professional with a winning record and maybe a championship at that point.

What are your goals within the sport ?
37. My goals are to go as far as I can and any exposure I get, to help in charities and organizations in need. It’s all about giving back when you make it big.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I have to give a huge shout out to my family who helps me with my daughters and support me! Quincy Rice, my first coach who taught me how to throw a punch and much more. To Joaquin Murcielago for taking a chance on letting me on his amazing team of athletes and helping me grow as a fighter and to everyone who supports me in any way. Good, bad, it’s all motivation and I love them all for it!

For all the latest news from Melinda click the link below and go check out her fan page.

https://www.facebook.com/mercilessmelindaoberlin/

