August 10th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Patrick Delgado
Nickname – The Ghost
Weight – 170 Pounds
Record – 3 wins 1 loss
Team – Fearless MMA

Where are you from ?
Lake Geneva, WI originally. But now fighting out of Janesville, WI.

How long have you been training ?
16 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I played soccer competitively throughout my life, and in college. But once that was over, I still had a desire to compete and challenge myself. I was always very interested in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. Soon after college, I enrolled at a local Jiu Jitsu school, and began to train regularly. Soon, I began to take smoker fights at local bars and such. Then I started taking it seriously and got on a fight card with three of my friends, and the rest is history.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
It’s a funny story actually. I fought in a local event on Halloween night one time. My team put on the event, so they coordinated the DJ and announcer and everything. So I fought and ended up winning, and the announcer unexpectedly referred to me as The Ghost. One of my team mates put him up to it, and it stuck ever since.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I honestly can’t say. My father was a fighter and I grew up watching boxing and kickboxing every Tuesday and Friday. I think I always wanted to be a fighter, even as a child.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes, I had a long talk about it with my family. We had a realistic discussion about the sacrifices and the risks of fighting, and the effects it would have on my life. In the end, they wanted me to go for it!

What is your current record ?
3-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I go through phases… Right now I’m really loving the Imanari Masakazu Rolling Heel Hook.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I take inspiration from everyone, not judge with sports but on every facet of life that I observe. Everyone’s fighting their own battles; some small, some giant. Some people have to struggle tremendously before they find their own personal success. But those that never quit and eventually reach their goal, whatever that might be, really inspire me.

What team do you train with ?
Team Fearless MMA.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like to battle wherever the fight takes me.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It’s a lifestyle. I try to live my life like a professional fighter; eat healthy, don’t drink soda or alcohol, train hard, always be willing to learn, and always strive for mastery.
What weight do you fight at ?
170lbs.

What do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I 100% believe in myself. I truly believe I can win any fight in any position or situation in the cage. I love the battles of will, wherever the fight takes me.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Sugar Ray Robinson.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
So many tough ones, it’s hard to choose.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Execute my game plan. Execution is key.

Who are you fighting next ?
Jeffery Peterson out of Alliance MMA in California.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
I feel like everyone that he’s fought in the past is afraid of him. I am excited to take the fight to him.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Driller Promotions – Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Aug 27, 2016.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be remembered for my heart and great spirit every time I fight. I want to be an inspiration to my kids and to my students.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“The most powerful force on earth is the human soul on fire”. – Ferdinand Foch

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Turning professional. It was a goal I set for myself a long time ago.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coaches and teammates. My father, Frank Delgado. Jesse Coca. Allen Zuehlke. Shawn Nolan. Luiz Claudio. Thiago Veiga.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Got to give that one to Royce Gracie. By winning UFC 1 and submitting everyone he faced, he single-handedly changed fighting forever.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Brazilian Jiu Jitsu. I like to take the fight to the ground and work for a submission.

What drives or motivates you ?
The desire to keep challenging myself. I want to be better today than yesterday, and tomorrow better than today.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I like to play the ukulele.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I like to spend time with my family. Especially my kids.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Resist the temptation to rush into it all. Find a good school with good coaches that care about you, and try to master all the basics first. Ask a lot of questions, and never give up.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Going stir crazy, desperate for a new challenge.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I like to stay relaxed and focused. I don’t get too hyped up. It’s just another day at the office.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Just a deep pool of new young contenders that are the true hybrids of MMA. The kids that grow up learning and focusing not only on just a single martial art, but all combat martial arts mixed together. It’s going to be exciting to see it!

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I’ll be coaching my team and students, and helping them meet their goals. Can’t wait to see how they grow and develop in the sport.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I strongly believe that heel strikes from the bottom of guard should be allowed in MMA. If a wrestler can lay and pray on you for 15 mins, throw rib shots and occasional head shots, and won’t look to advance his positioning and just hold, then I think a grappler on his back should be able to throw heel strikes to the kidneys and liver to make them move. Right now the rules really favor the wrestlers, just like to take the fight to the ground and ride out a decision.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
GSP.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to say hi to all my friends and family, Fearless MMA Academy & Team Fearless, Pulse Kimonos, Tutaj BJJ, Finn’s Functional Fitness, Centra Family Chiropractic, Agard & Lipker Dental, Luke’s Deli, Johnstown Food Center, & Basics Cooperative Natural Foods. Much love!

