August 11th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Austin Czenkus
Nickname – Danger
Weight – 150 pounds
Kickboxing Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Great Lakes Ground and Pound

Where are you from ?
Croswell, Michigan.

How old Are you ?
17 years old.

How long have you been training
I started when I was 15, so about a year and a half.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I was bullied and pushed around in middle school, and I was always wrestling around with my friends in the good old basement. I heard about the gym Great Lakes Ground and Pound, and started training.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Danger. My MMA coach gave it to me 🙂.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
After I had my very first, first place finish and MSOA. I liked the feeling of winning and I craved it.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My mother was worried. Always has been. But she has also been supportive through it all.

What is your current record ?
I look to make my Mixed Martial Arts debut in 2018. But I am 1-0 in kickboxing and 7-0 in Jiu Jitsu.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
Triangle Choke.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My Mother is my biggest inspiration.

What team do you train with ?
Great Lakes Ground and Pound.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
Although i have yet to fight MMA, I enjoy standing up. But I am very comfortable taking it to the ground if needed.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter to me means being dedicated, and achieving goals.

What weight do you fight at ?
I currently walk around 150 and I normally compete at my walking weight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I believe I train harder, and I want it more than anyone.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
A Hometown Professional fight for a title, against any world-class pro.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
My toughest jiu jitsu match was against Chandler Skornica. I competed against him twice at MSOA. The first was a rear naked win in overtime, the second being a triangle choke 20 seconds in.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
That I can Achieve anything.

Who are you fighting next ?
I have A few potential Tournaments ranging from September-December.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
MSOA, Possibly the Michigan Open, and possibly Modern flow.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Modern Flow, September 17th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Never giving up, and being a successful professional.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it’s the size of the fight in the dog”

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
3 Time MSOA gold medalist.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coach, Jason Favell.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Any and all fighters, fighters put the time in to perform well. Without high performing fighters, the sport would not be where it Is today.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Muy Thai/Kickboxing.

What drives or motivates you ?
The thought of being the Greatest.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I live, think, and breathe MMA, 24/7. It’s always on my mind.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Think about Fighting and what I can do better.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
I am young still. But actions speak louder than words. If you want to do something, do it.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Football, and being bored.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
The only thing that gets me hyped is my mind, and wanting to be great more than anything.

Where do you see yourself in 5-10 years ?
Professional, A top ranked fighter in the Midwest.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Michael Venom Paige.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank my great team and coach. And also everyone that supports me.

