August 18th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Don Whitner
Weight – 170 Pounds
Record – 0 wins 0 losses
Team – Top Breed MMA

Where are you from ?
I’m from Martin Ohio.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training a little over a year.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I’ve been following the sport for years.I met some guys who were already training or already fought and they let me train with them.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I currently do not have a nickname.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
After training with a few guys I realized that MMA is something I wanted to make a career out of. I love the way it makes me feel.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
I’ve had a lot of support from friends and family and others I will have to prove them wrong.

What is your current record ?
0-0.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is the superman punch.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my family and my girlfriend.

What team do you train with ?
Top Breed MMA.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I prefer to stand with my opponent.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a great fighter is having a perfect balance of having that toughness, skill, and mutual capability to out think your opponent.

What weight do you fight at ?
Currently I fight at 170 lbs.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I have the dedication to continue in this sport and continue to improve myself.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would love to have the chance to fight Connor McGregor just because he is my favorite fighter.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I’ve never fought before.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
That they are locked in the cage with me and this is my fight.

Who are you fighting next ?
Greg Jeffery.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I have never seen this fighter before.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Warrior Nation Fight Series.

Date and time of your next fight ?
August 20th at 8pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I had dedication and love for the sport.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
“Pain is temporary, greatness is forever”.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Making the decision to step in the cage.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My teammates at Top Breed MMA.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Ronda Rousey, because she opened the door for female fighters and brought a lot of great talent to the sport.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Stand up.

What drives or motivates you ?
My love for the sport and my interest in furthering my career.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a love for older cars.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Spend time with my family and my girlfriend.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Never give up and always chase your dreams.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Trying to improve myself as a person.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to step in the cage ?
Listening to my favorite music.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I’m not sure, but it will definitely be interesting to see.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Connor McGregor.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my family and friends for their support, my girlfriend for helping me and supporting me, and my coach Sean Billings for helping me get ready for this fight.

