August 19th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Evan Jays
Nickname – The Evster
Weight – 50.8kg (111 pounds)
Record – 3 wins 0 losses
Team – Double K / Team Tieu

Where are you from ?
Basildon in Essex.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 10 years.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
I Started Karate then Kickboxing and found Muay Thai and never looked back.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Not sure someone said it once and it has stuck.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I always looked up to John Wayne Parr as a young fighter. I attended one of his seminars when he was in the UK and he pulled me out and gave me a massive compliment we have stayed in touch ever since. Then in June I had the opportunity to fight on the same show as him, it was great.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the competitive world of Muay Thai ?
Very supportive my mum, dad, sister and brother all have to put up with my moods during an upcoming fight.

What is your current record ?
Junior record 89w 13l. Pro record 3w.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
The spinning back elbow.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I am lucky I have a really good team around me that keep me grounded. My coaches Kieran Keedle and Phillip Tieu pay a massive part of life and alway give good advise. All my team inspire me and help me out. Charlie Peters, Paul Barber, Jamie Whelan, Luke Whelan, Keiran Manwearing, Jake Broswick, David Tieu, Matty Tieu, Carlton Loo. There are loads I could keep going if I have missed anyone I apoligize you all inspire me. Finally Bead Goldberg my original Muay Thai coach started me on my journey and I will never forget that.

What team do you train with ?
Double K and Team Tieu.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Everything it is my life.

What weight do you fight at ?
50.8kg.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Hard work and dedication.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Not sure I fight anyone it is more about the show. Would love to fight for K1 or Glory.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
All my fights are hard I have always fought the best. My last fight I fought a 25 year old ranked fighter that was a good challenge.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Same as every fight. Focus on the fight and train hard.

Who are you fighting next ?
Lauge Petersen from Denmark.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I never watch my opponents, I let my coaches worry about that.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
MTGP (Muay Thai Grand Prix)

Date and time of your next fight ?
October 15th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
To be a great fighter that people enjoy watching.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
lol there are so many. Can’t think.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far.
I have been lucky i have fought on big shows and fought on the same show as some of the biggest stars of Muay Thai. I won a Junior OCO world title against a very strong Ducth lad on a local show in front of all my friends and family that was really cool.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My dad, he always take me training and supports me through all the good and bad. As I said before all me team have a massive part in who I have become.
Who do you feel has had the biggest impact: on the sport and why ?
Saenchai, used to love watching him and always try to copy his moves. I trained with him for a week when I was 9. One of my training partners and my best mates is actually fighting Seanchai in September. Good luck Charlie Perers.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I am a technical fighter but can adapt to most styles ?

What drives or motivates you ?
performing. It is a great feeling when you walk out to a massive crowd.

What is something people might not know about you ?
My mum had a hit record out when she was 16 and was on top of the pop twice.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I am always at the gym. When I do have any free time I like to see my mates.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
work hard, don’t slack and just try your hardest. Keep practising it is all about repetition you have to practise the same move over and over again.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Really don’t know, never even thought about it.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
It is just another day in the office for me now. I love when your name is announced and you here the crowd.

Where do you see the sport of Muay Thai in 5 years ?
it is getting bigger. Shows are getting better and better.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
At the top hopefully.

What do you think can change moving forward to make Muay Thai better as a sport ?
Simplify the scoring possibly. The scoring is hard to follow for the non Muay Thai community ?

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Samgmanee. I love watching but there are loads.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My sponsors Saviour World and Just Winning. All my team at Double K and Team Tieu we are like one big family it is great to be around.

