August 22nd 2016

Where are you from ?
Bochum Germany.

How long have you been training ?
I started Boxing in 1972 Muay Thai early in the 80’s Luta Livre Blackbelt under Marcio Cromado Barbosa since 2012.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I trained MMA Fighters mostly as a Striking Coach.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
Coach because I don’t like to be called Kru, Arjahn, Professor etc.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
My Dad put me in the Police athletic league Boxing Program as a child for me to learn how to defend myself on the street and I took to it.

What is your favorite strike ?
Knees.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My Father.

What team do you train with ?
I am a Gun for Hire.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Having been a Coach that took care of his Fighters.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Klagt nicht Kämpft (German loose translation: Stop complaining and Fight)

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport ?
In MMA the Bellator Tournament Win I guess.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Coban Lookchaomaesaitong in Muay Thai, Marcio Cromado in MMA.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Art Davie because without him there would be no MMA.

What drives or motivates you ?
The success and personal growth of my Fighters.

When you are not in the gym training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Watching Movies.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Take your time! Train for a long time before you fight for the first time, stay an amateur for as long as possible, it takes years in the ammy’s to become a Pro. Becoming a Professional is similar to becoming a Professional in any other line of work. It takes years of school, Fighting is no different.
Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
As of late there have been some very questionable fights in the leading promotions and it seems like the trend goes to who is hot (marketable) and who is not. It used to be the best fighters but not any more. I understand that it’s necessary to get the casual fan to buy PPV and Merchandise but it is not helping the sport. So if this continues in 5-10 years the big Promotions will be exactly where and what the WWE is. And the up and coming fighters will have to spend half their training time tweeting and other image work instead of building their fighting skills.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Donald Cerrone (MMA), Coban Lookchaomaesaitong ( Muay Thai), Rocky Marciano (Boxing)

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My Family for living with me and the Sport.

ty1

