August 23rd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – William Graustuck
Weight – 125 pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Level Ground MMA

Where are you from ?
I am from Boston Massachusetts born and raised there.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training consistently close to 3 years now and still going.

How did you get into MMA ?
I got into MMA when I started watching UFC a couple of years back and then one of my coaches asked me if I wanted to fight and I said “Hell Yeah!”.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
I don’t really have a nickname YET! I am still trying to find which type of beast I am.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
I’ve always wanted to be a fighter, I just didn’t have the right type of people then that I have now and now that I do I am excited to take on this career and give and take beatings.

When you decided to pursue a career in MMA what was the reaction of your family and friends did you have there support.
My family and friends are always supportive no matter what it is just as long as I’m doing right.

What is your current record ?
My current record is (1-0) and hoping to move to (2-0) after I fight this coming weekend.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
I love submitting people in different ways so I don’t really have a favorite sub. You just better watch out with what you give up.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration has to be my family and my team because they push me to be a better person.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Level Ground MMA which is my 2nd home.

Where do you like your fights to take place do you like to keep it standing or take it to the ground ?
I feel more comfortable on the ground but if I need to stand up with the guy then I will throw hands.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means a lot to me because of how I grew up so it let’s me be free and flow with life.

What weight do you fight at ?
I currently fight at Flyweight which is 125lbs.

What separates you from other fighters in the Flyweight division ?
The only thing that separates me from other fighters in my division is flowing and keeping composure. If you can’t do that then you’re going to lose most of the time.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
My dream fight would be to fight either Dimitrious Johnson or Jose Aldo.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
I actually haven’t had a tough fight yet and I am hoping to have one soon.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
My mindset going into a fight is to not think negative about things, keep calm and keep composure.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Andrew Herbst this weekend coming up.

What holes or weaknesses do you see in his game that you can exploit ?
This guy is making his debut so I’ll notice what he’s messing up on while I am fighting him and I’ll use that against him.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am currently fighting for Cage Titans.

Date and time of your upcoming fight ?
My next fight is on August 27th at the Plymouth Memorial Hall for Cage Titans doors open at 6pm.

What do you want people to look back and remember you for at the end of your career ?
I just want people to know that you cannot doubt yourself or bad things will happen so take every opportunity you see.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I honestly don’t have a favorite quote just yet.

What has been your biggest accomplishment so far in MMA ?
Making my debut and getting a first round submission was a big accomplishment for me because my mom was there and I had to show her what I was working hard on. Also because anyone who steps in the cage is a boss!

Who has been the biggest influence on you and your career ?
The person that has been the most influential to me in my career has been both my instructors because they drive me to a whole other level beyond a god level.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on MMA ?
The person that has had the biggest impact on the sport has to be every single guy who fought for UFC 1 just because they made it a sport that we all fight in now.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
My fighting style is mixed with a lot of disciplines and fast paced.

What drives or motivates you ?
The thing that motivates me is trying to provide for my family so that we can live a better life.

What is something people might not know about you ?
A lot of people know me and how I am so I honestly don’t have anything to hide.

When you are not training and preparing to fight what do you enjoy doing in your free time?
In my free time I am either working, hiking mountains, riding a bike, jogging, or just home relaxing.

What advice would you give to young fighters ?
Advice I would give to the young fighters and those who want to become fighters is that patience is key.

Where do you think you would be today if you had not become a fighter ?
If I wasn’t a fighter I’d probably be dead or still on the streets doing the bad.

What gets you ready to walk out to the cage do you have any pre fight rituals that help you prepare ?
My coaches get me super amped before a fight so they are my rituals.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
In 5 years, MMA is going to be full of guys taking steroids and me being the only natural body.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In 5 years I see myself as a mechanic and a pro fighter.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I think MMA will change when they see how strong an all natural guy is compared to drugs.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
My favorite fighter has to my Mighty Mouse Johnson and Dominick Cruz.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
I just want to give a shout out to my team Level Ground MMA, my coaches Tyler King, LJ Scarcella, and Ryan Cushing, my mom and dad, and everyone who supports me so far!!!

william2

