August 25th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Kanyeba Anicet
Nickname – Showstopper
Weight – 66kg (145 pounds)
Record – 5 wins 5 losses 1 no contest
Team – Junkyard MMA

Where are you from
I am from the Democratic Republic of The Congo.

How long have you been training in combat sports ?
I have been in the sport since 1990 and in MMA since 2010.

How did you get in to MMA ?
I went to a club called demolition in Hatfield to further my boxing career then the owner introduced me to MMA.

Tell us about the nickname ShowStopper how did you get it ?
The name was given to me due to my resurgence from my setback to go 5 consecutive wins

What is your current record ?
5 consecutive wins 5 losses and 1 no contest.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
stand up punch and the rear naked choke

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Floyd Mayweather.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Junkyard MMA.

where do you like to take the fight do you like to stand and throw hands or take the fight to the ground ?
I love to stand up but I am not afraid to go to the ground.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means the world to me ?

What weight do you fight at ?
66kg (145 pounds).

What separates you from other fighters ?
My fitness and confidence.

If you were given one dream fight who would it be against ?
I would fight Floyd Mayweather in boxing and Conor McGregor in MMA.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
My toughest opponent was Boyd Allan in my first fight.

What is your mindset going into fight night ?
My mindset is always that im going to work hard and win.

Who are you fighting next ?
I do not know yet I am waiting on my doctors clearance due to an injury.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Born a champion die a champion.

Who do you think has had the biggest impact on MMA ?
Conor McGregor because he has accomplished what he said he would do.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Forward and aggressive till I take you to the ground.

What is something people might not know about you ?
People don’t know that I’m as good as they think on the ground.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
To be confident and to leave nothing behind to learn all you can.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had not become a fighter ?
I was going to be a soccer player.

What gets you ready to step in the cage on fight night do you have any rituals that you do before the fight ?
My Lord Jesus my God and prayer.

Where do you see MMA in the next 5 years ?
The number one sport in the world 🌍 .

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Jon Jones.

Is there anyone you would like to thank ?
My wife for her full support.

