August 26th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Bobby Cooper
Nickname – Super Duper
Weight – 170 pounds
Record – 13 wins 6 losses
Team – Glory MMA and Fitness

Where are you from ?
I’m from knob noster Missouri “The 6-6-0”.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve been training right about 9 years.

How did you get into MMA ?
My best friend Jose Vega got me into MMA. He’s a vet in the game. Made me stop fighting for fun and take my skill set and apply it to something useful.

Tell us about your nickname “Super Duper” how did you get it ?
My nickname “super-duper” was brought up as an amateur as a joke. They announced it one fight and it stuck ever since. People love it. I credit the Nick name to Mike Jones.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do ?
They’re really wasn’t a defining moment. I’ve always been a fighter. Been fighting since I was a kid. Hanging out with my B Squad Crew in Clovis New Mexico, then with Jose Vega when I moved to Missouri. It’s always been a rush for me. Not because I wanted to cause pain but because I enjoyed it.

When you decided to pursue MMA as a career what was the reaction of your family and friends where they supportive of your decision ?
Everyone in my family was super supportive except my dad. He had bigger goals in mind for me. Once he saw the love and dedication I had, and how good I could become he jumped on the train and is now one of my biggest supporters.

What is your current record ?
13-6.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
I’m in love with the jab. I possibly over use it if there’s such a thing. It sets up my whole arsenal. Everything can be done off of an effective jab.

Who is your biggest Inspiration ?
9) I’d say my biggest inspirations are James Krause and Jose Vega. Just two vets in the game that have always looked out for me since day one. I look up to them in the fight game and especially in my personal life. Couldn’t be happier to have them in my life.

What team do you train with ?
I train with Glory MMA and Fitness out of Lee’s summit mo.

Are you the type of fighter that likes to stand and bang with your opponent or do you prefer taking the fight to the ground ?
Stand and bang. I’m a technical fighter who would love to just throw hands and kicks for the whole fight.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means I get paid to fight someone…. I mean how cool is that? Hey…fight that guy, gets some money!

What weight do you fight at ?
Moving up from 155 to 170, decided to make it a permanent move.

What separates you from other fighters ?
My speed and angles separate me from these guys. They all look like they are stuck in the mud.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Eh I don’t really have a dream fight… I requested Melvin Guillard but didn’t get it and that bothers me.. So I would say Melvin.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
My toughest fight to date is when I fought Chidi Njokuani. Big athletic guy that was really hard to find any success against.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Fuck him up and do not let him out of the 1st.

Who are you fighting next ?
Magomed Magomedkerimov.

What holes or weaknesses will you be looking to exploit when you step in the cage with Magomed Magomedkerimov ?
I don’t know anything about him, my coaches watch tape and they set me up to be prepared in all aspects.

What promotion will you be fighting for ?
World Series Of Fighting.

Date and time of your upcoming fight ?
October 7th, no clue what time.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end of your career ?
I just want to be remembered as fun to watch. I enjoy fighting so much that I hope the people watching me are enjoying it as well.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
My biggest accomplishment, which was my goal when I started, was getting to fight on national television. Just to feel famous for a brief moment.

Who has had the biggest influence on you and your career ?
James Krause has by far been the most influential person in my life. I could go on and on about all the amazing things he’s accomplished, not only for himself, but in driving others. But I will just leave it at James Krause.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I’ll change that question into “lately” and go with Connor McGregor. The dude is changing the pay scale of all the fighters and moving fighters into being paid like real athletes.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Well… I would describe my fighting style as a “wavy technical striker” odd but it’s me.

What drives or motivates you ?
The biggest thing that drives me is having the ability for my son to have me to look up too and to be proud of.

What is something the fans might not know about you ?
I’m scared to leave my feet hanging off the bed. Oh and I HATE Peacocks.

When you are not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
I’m with my kids Andrew and Sierra working on their athleticism. Or watching archer.

What advice can you give to young fighters ?
If you are in it for the money… Get out.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I would have finished my schooling to become a teacher already. Which is my plans when I hang up the gloves.

What gets you ready to step in the cage on fight night do you have any rituals that prepare you to fight ?
Nope I try to stay cool and calm. 90s country till it’s time, then some fight music right before walking out.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Where it is now but with higher paydays.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Hopefully teaching and coaching somewhere.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I believe a Fighter Union could really help out.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Nick Diaz all time favorite fighter.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
My whole glory family, Joe wooster, John Maupins (The Body Shop) , Ethan Benda, Dr.Yates (complete chiropractor) and Josh Martin (best tattoo artist in Missouri)

