August 31st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Jon Solano
Weight – 140-145 Pounds
Record – 4 wins 1 loss 1 draw
Team – Team Thunder Muay Thai And MMA
Where are you from ?
I was born in Caguas Puerto Rico but right now I live in San Juan Puerto Rico.

How long have you been training in Muay Thai ?
I started in september of last year.

How did you get into Muay Thai ?
That’s the gym’s strong art but we get a little bit of bjj, and self-defense.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
At the gym you have to earn one your coach or teammates give you that.

What was the defining moment when you knew being a fighter was what you wanted to do?
I wanted to become a fighter since I was in 3rd grade but my family didn’t like that so I did water polo for the Puerto Rico national team 18 and under but I was fighting every one in the pool. Hahahahahaha.

When you decided to compete and train in Muay Thai where your family and friends supportive of your decision ?
Right now yes, they are really supportive and really helpful.

What is your current record ?
My record is 4-1-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission to use in a fight ?
I don’t have a favorite strike nor submission. One thing I learn from coach is that when the opening comes you hit or submit with heart and mind behind it.

Who is your biggest inspiration in combat sports ?
My biggest inspirations are “Ruthless” Robbie Lawler and Buakaw Banchamek.

What team do you train with ?
I train with the family at Team Thunder Muay Thai and MMA gym.

Where do you like to take the fight do you like to stand and bang or do you prefer taking it to the ground ?
That depends on my opponents fighting skills if he likes to stand I take it to the ground and if he likes the ground I don’t have any trouble standing with him.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
It means discipline courage and responsibility.

What weight do you fight at ?
I fight at 140-145 pounds.

What separates you from other fighters ?
My goals that’s what separates us.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against and why ?
Jose Aldo, Sage Northcut (just to destroy him) and Robbie Lawler.
(I dream every day to make this happen just a friendly fight) hahahahahahahaha

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
16. I think every fight is tough because we always put 110% into it.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
Kill or be Killed.

Who are you fighting next ?
I don’t have any fights coming up but we train every day waiting for on the call for the next one.

What holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponent during a fight ?
I wait to hear my coach call.

What do you want people to remember you for at the end or your career ?
I want to be remembered for being the a fearless and tough fighter, the guy that if you knock him down is coming back stronger and hungrier.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I have so many mottos and quotes but my favorite ones are “if there is no enemy within the enemy outside can do no harm” and “what we do in life?, echos in eternity”.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in Muay Thai ?
I havent accomplished it yet because that is when I have 13 or more belts.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Everybody that lift me up on a bad day Alex ,Angela ,Coach, Joel, MB ,and the entire Team Thunder family.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on Muay Thai ?
I really don’t know that.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Hands up all the time and kick after every combination.

What drives or motivates you ?
My girl and the little one in her belly.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m scared of roaches, spiders and rats hahahaha.

When you’re not training what do you enjoy doing in your free time ?
Studying to Finish my degree in massage therapy and playing paintball.

What advice can you pass on to young fighters ?
Never give up and as difficult as it is. Wake up before everybody to make your dream closer to reality every day.

What do you think you would be doing today if you had never become a fighter ?
I would be working at the restaurant and studying full-time but I love to fight a lot so there is no life without fighting hahahahaah.

What gets you ready to step in the ring and compete do you have any rituals that prepare you for your fights ?
I listen to Eminem and I have to wear my Vegeta shirt(dragon ball z) I close my eyes and see the fight after it happens.

Where do you see Muay Thai as a sport in 5 years ?
34. Right now Muay Thai is the most complete martial art for MMA in 5 years I see everybody practicing the sport to even use it as self-defence.

Where do you see yourself 5 years down the road ?
I see my self with five belts and a lot of money hahahahahahahahahah.

What do you think can change moving forward to make the sport better ?
Like I said Muay Thai is the most complete art in MMA or as a self-defense program.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
“Ruthless” Robbie Lawler.

Is there anyone you would like to thank or give a shout out to ?
First I want to thank God for this opportunity in life that he has given me thanks to my coach Ajarn thunder for believe in me and shout out to my second family and second house Team Thunder Muay Thai and MMA gym.

JonSolano2

