September 1st 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Rishi Chisholm
Weight – 59kg (130 pounds)
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Team – Barbarian Muay Thai

Where are you from ?
India but I was raised in Australia.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training since 2012 but I was only going on a casual basis just as a hobby i suppose and then in 2014 i started going full-time and committed myself to the sport and the team at Barbarian Muay Thai .

How did you get in to Muay Thai?
Well i wanted to learn kickboxing at first and then mum put me in the Muay Thai classes at Barbarian Muay Thai and i loved Muay Thai from then on.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I don’t have one as of yet but I’m open to suggestions.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
The defining moment for me that made me decide that I wanted to become a fighter was when i went to my first fight show it was Gold Rush 3 held in ballarat by World Champion Steve Moxon, i think about a week later i went to dave and told him that i wanted to be a fighter.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
Yes my dad has been amazing, his commitment to being able to drive me 30 minutes into town to train and then pick me up every time without fail and not complaining its more than I have ever asked for, he was probably stoked when i finally got my licence haha . My other family members were happy that i was so passionate about something and it keeps me out of trouble.

What is your current record?
1-0.

What is your favorite strike or submission?
Probably elbows, any kind they’re all good. I remember I had my first Full Thai Rules fight at the Barbarian Muay Thai interclub, myself and my opponent both wore elbow pads and knee pads as it was an interclub. It was a ripper 3 rounds, i was fortunate enough for my hard work to have paid off and to come home with the win.

Who is your biggest inspiration?
My biggest inspiration isn’t just one person, it’s a whole team, well more so my second family, everyone at Barbarian Muay Thai we all push each other to be the best versions of ourselves as possible.

What team do you train with?
Barbarian Muay Thai in Ballarat Victoria

What does being a fighter mean to you?
It means that I have a sense of direction in where i want to go in life plus it adds more goals to achieve.

What weight do you fight at ?
I currently fight at 59kg

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
To me it isn’t really a dream it’s one of my life goals to be able to touch gloves centre ring with “The Rebel” Roy Wills for hopefully at least 5 rounds of Full Thai Rules, Muay Thai action.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Probably Issac Tomlinson from Top Tier Muay Thai because I held my breath and i got gassed quickly.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
To relax and have fun.

Who are you fighting next ?
There aren’t any fights lined up yet.

What holes or weaknesses do you look to exploit in your opponents during a fight ?
When their guard is down and just little tweaks and reactions they do to certain movements.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I’m an Ambassador for Fighting for Autism. I want to help children with autism and also create awareness for it.

Date and time of your next fight ?
Not sure.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I have no idea, I guess all the hard work that i put in to get as far as i did.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
One of my favorite quotes which I feel is relevant to Muay Thai and also life is this. “If at first you DO succeed Embrace the shit out of it . Because if you truly are challenging yourself it won’t always be this way.”
~Dave ashmore

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my first amature fight and also becoming an Ambassador for Fighting for Autism.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Probably every one who is positive and encouraging towards me and my goals.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Clean and fast.

What drives or motivates you ?
Spite is the first thing that comes to mind but not quite spite, its like when I decided that i wanted to be a professional fighter heaps of people said that i wouldn’t be able to do it and i want to prove them wrong.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I was adopted from India when I was 3 and i came over to Australia, and i have 2 dogs.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I love to run my dogs, spend time with my friends and eat food, lots of food.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Have fun & commit yourself!! Decide what you want and just go for it like a bull at a gate. Good, Better, Best. never let it rest until your good is better and your better is best.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I honestly don’t know.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Ahh well I think of songs that i like that will get me pumped!! Ahh a big breakfast in the morning on fight day and making sure my hair looks good haha.

Where do you see the sport of Muay Thai in 5 years ?
Hopefully the amature fights don’t have head-gear because it gives you a false sense of security, also I feel as though if you’re at that level then you should be able to be getting used to getting hit hard and in the head.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Owning my own house, being a professional fighter with at least 35 fights under my belt. I’m not quite sure what else.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to?
I want to give a massive shout out to my Dad and friends Laura Cartledge, Jessica Crick & Danny luke also my brother Callum McLennan for being so supportive of me. Dave & Sally Ashmore The Barbarian Muay Thai Team. Thank you to Christian Mitchell for helping me with all the promotion towards Fighting For Autism. Last of all to my friend Liam McCahon who unfortunately passed away in 2014.

As weird as it sounds I’m going to give my own Instagram a shout out, Follow me and keep updated with my fights and journey to create awareness for autism.
@Rishelicious

