September 2nd 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Dennis Maldonado
Nickname – Deuces Wild
Record – 4 wins 4 losses
Weight – 170-185 pounds
Team – Choke Fight MMA

Where are you from ?
Jacksonville Florida.

How long have you been training ?
I’ve always been into martial arts since I was 6. My  MMA training started about 8 years ago.

How did you get into MMA ?
During my military service they taught us Brazilian Jiu-jitsu and when I got some free time I reached out to a promoter online and set up my first MMA fight.

Tell us about your nickname how did you get it ?
Deuces Wild is a term me and my family use to describe ourselves. We are From 132nd st and we are all wild Lol. So I carry the name to honor them and my fallen loved ones.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
As soon as I had my first kickboxing match at 18. Shortly after I joined the army my time was limited to really do more. I spent 6 years just training and getting ready for my shot and I finally got it in 2010.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes very supportive. No one was even surprised I chose to be a fighter.

What is your current record ?
4-4.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike is the over hand left. I’ve seen multiple k.os from southpaws in the cage using this. Me being a lefty its one of my go to strikes.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
It’s hard to answer, I have so many. Anderson Silva and Conor McGregor are my top MMA fighters who I watch the most.

What team do you train with ?
Choke Fight MMA under Professor Juan Mott and I also train with MMA Fight Club along with other training partners like Neptune Beach BJJ with Kenneth Craig

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I prefer to stand and bang. The fans are paying good money for good fights not wrestling matches. That’s what NAGA and other grappling organizations are for.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter is mostly mental. Its having the discipline to be respectful to your opponents, the heart to keep pushing when you want to quit and the knowledge to train and teach those who look up to you.

What weight do you fight at ?
170 – 185 pounds.

what do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
My heart. Most of these fighters lack that. They’re scared to throw hands and put on a great fight. Too busy trying to lay and pray so they don’t get hit.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against?
Rory Mcdonald. He’s an outstanding striker and he’s one of the top in my weight class.

Who has been your toughest opponent to date ?
Joe Fye. He was the only one who stood up with me longer than 1 round. We had a 3 round war that earned fight of the night.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Focus on the mission……seek and destroy.

Who are you fighting next ?
I don’t have any fights set up at the moment.

what holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents game that yu can exploit inside the cage ?
I don’t speak on those things. We are all warriors and we all have weaknesses.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Arena Fighting Championship and Combat Night.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
Being a great stand up fighter who fights for the fans.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in MMA ?
Winning the 185lb title.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My Kids, I do this for them. My 3 sons and daughter need a positive role model. I want them to know their dads a warrior.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Anderson Silva. He set the bar high for a long time.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Freestyle Kickboxer

What drives or motivates you ?
My family.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I have a big sense of humor even though I look serious.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Direct short films, make music, and run my community program.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Train hard and never give up. Get with the right team and promotion.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I don’t know. I’ve always wanted to be a be a fighter. Probably making movies full-time.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
The fans.

do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to step in the cage ?
I do a freestyle rap session with my team.

Your backstage your walkout music plays whats going through your head as you walk to the cage ?
It’s time to give these fans the best fight of the night.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5-10 years ?
I see it full of versatile fighters and bigger low-level promotions.

Who is your favorite fighter?
Anderson Silva.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
Professor Juan Mott , Anthony Arnett MMA Fightclub Management of Champions
Kenneth Craig and All my supporters who always share my videos .

