September 4th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Miki Rogers
Nickname – The Mini Pit
Weight – 105 pounds
Record – 2 wins 2 losses
Team – Alan Belcher MMA Club

Where are you from ?
Bay St Louis, MS.
How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 4 years

How did you get into MMA ?
I actually heard the gym being advertised on the radio. I played sports in high school and went to college on a basketball scholarship. When I found MMA I stopped focusing on b-ball and fell in love with the challenge MMA introduced me to. I haven’t stopped since.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My coach James Sharp gave me the nickname “Pit-Bull” after he learned about me rolling with one of my advanced teammates for the first time who put me in a position I have yet to learn how to escape so I gestured to bite him jokingly. Needless to say I discovered an escape. I later chose to change it to “Mini Pit” since a lot of people had “Pit-Bull” as a nickname.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I felt alive when I trained Mixed Martial Arts. It gave me an outlet to express myself fully without words. I remember taking my first ever fight it was a boxing match. With just a few months of training I performed the best I knew how. I was winning but had to take a loss because my knee kept blowing out. Right then I knew I was meant to do it because I was so fired up to prove to myself that I CAN & WILL do it.
Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Yes, they were supportive of my decision. They still are my biggest supporters.

What is your current record ?
2-2

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My mom is my biggest inspiration. She raised my brother and I by herself working three jobs. No matter how tired she was, she always helped us with our homework and made sure we had everything we needed. She passed when I was seven. It felt as if a rib was being carved from my side. I strive to be a workhorse just like she was. She’s my rock and determination. I’m forever pushing myself to be nearly as strong as she was.

What team do you currently train with ?
Alan Belcher MMA Club.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like the ground game I do, but the fight does start on the feet.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Overcoming adversity.

What weight do you fight ?
105-110 pounds.

What do you think separates you from other fighters in your division ?
I believe what separates all fighters from each other is what we fight for.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be ?
I really don’t have one.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Toughest fight to date Ingrid Medrano I fought her twice both Fight of the Night fights. I fought her once as amateur and once as pro.

What is your mindset going into a fight ?
This is what I train for let’s go have some fun.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Montana Stewart
What holes or weaknesses will you look to exploit in your opponent for this fight ?
Fighting is a chess game its full of little mistakes. I’m just gonna fight like hell to be the one who makes fewer mistakes.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
This fight will be for XFN.

Date & time of your next fight ?
September 17th.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For my heart, grit, courage, personality, and spirit.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My two coaches James Sharp & Aaron Williams.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Georges St. Pierre.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Free-style.

What drives or motivates you ?
What is something people might not know about you? I’m the only girl with three brothers. I felt as if I was in the shadow of my two older brothers, who played sports also. I felt like I always had to push myself harder to be noticed. That’s what motivated me early in my career. Now what motivates me is meanly myself. Proving to myself that I can reach my goals.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would be an owner of a chain of gyms & health food stores. I do have my Bachelors Degree in kinesiology.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre-fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
The ritual I usually do to get ready for a fight is I go out in the audience find my dad and he says a pray with me. After that I feel ready. I then go in the area for the fighters and out on my tunes

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Dominick Cruz.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
I like to watch movies/shows on Netflix and spend time with family.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I’ll say my three Fight of the Night awards.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in MMA ?
Proving to people that we bring just as much to the table as men in the MMA world.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Train hard, Be humble, Never give up, and Always Be Yourself.

Where do you see Women’s MMA in the next 5-10 years ?
I don’t really know I just hope for continued advancement.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I see myself succeeding to a high level in my division. I hope to be signed to a big promotion like Invicta.

What are your goals in the sport ?
To leave my mark & to be an inspiration.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I would like to thank my sponsors
Matthew Print & Apparel Company
– Performance Auto Upholstery & Glass
– GNC D’Iberville, MS
– UR Fight
– I’ll like to thank of course all of my teammates & coaches at Alan
Belcher MMA Club.

