September 5th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Zach Oxendine
Nickname – ZKO
Weight – 145-155 pounds
Record – 1 win 0 losses
Independent Fighter

Where are you from ?
Lumberton NC.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training off and on for about 2 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
When I was in high school about 6 years ago, all these movies were coming out and everybody wanted to do it. I love to fight it was just fun for me so I figured I’d give it a try, and I fell in love with it.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
It’s just my initials, kind of crazy because mine are ZKO and my dad’s are TKO.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I was training at UNCP, the local college in Pembroke and I got hit with a hard 2 and it broke my nose so I was like if I’m gonna bleed and break for this sport, I’m gunna be serious about it!

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Not really but they are coming around slowly.

What is your current record ?
1-0.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
I’m a big fan of the Stockton Slap!

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
My biggest inspiration is my son Judah, he was born at 23 weeks so he has fought since he came out literally!

What team do you train with ?
right now I’m independent but I’m trying to get connected with Team ROC in Fayetteville, they produce some monsters out there!

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I love to stand up!

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
everything, most people want to be doctors or lawyers but I want to be a fighter.

What weight do you fight at ?
155 or 145.

what do you think separates you from other fighters ?
I have a lot that motivates me, from my son to my family to getting away from this small town.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I’d love to fight Nate Diaz because he is my favorite fighter!

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Well my last fight that morning I found out my opponent backed out or something so I had the option to fight a guy 20 pounds heavier than me so I took the fight! It wasn’t hard but it was somewhat of a challenge.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
kill or be killed!

Who are you fighting next ?
Michael Waters.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I think I’m a better striker than he is so I look to keep the fight standing and hit him a lot.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Carolina Fight Nights.

Date and time of your next fight ?
September 24th fights start at 7.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be known as a hard nose fighter who was very hard to finish.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I don’t really have one I just always look to finish my fights any way I can.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Winning my first fight, it was a dream just to fight and now that I’ve accomplished that I feel the sky’s the limit!

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Probably my best friend Miles Sampson.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I think Anderson Silva, he was so well-rounded it’s crazy, it’s like he knew all the aspects of the fight game and he could do anything he wanted to you and still beat you.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I’m a brawler, I like taking a punch and giving one back just as hard.

What drives or motivates you ?
My son.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I act tough but really I’m a big softie when it comes to things I love.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
My goal is to almost always be in the gym constantly learning and bettering my fighting style. But I enjoy spending time with my girlfriend of 6 years, my son and my family and homies.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Just work hard, a lot of people will doubt you but ultimately it’s up to you to make something of yourself. Hard work pays off, be a sponge and soak everything up that is given to you.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
who knows ?

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I usually just throw on some music and get in the zone. I call my girl and Face-Time my son just for that extra little push before I go out.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
As big as the NFL or NBA.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Living in California, training with the Diaz brothers, and fighting in the UFC.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
I think if people started viewing it as an actual sport and not as 2 guys going in to try to beat each other half to death there would be more fans of the sport.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Nate Diaz.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
It’s really hard to because I know I’ll leave some people out but I’d like to thank God for everything He has done for me, my family for all the help and support all the times I never had money and they supplied for me, my girlfriend Shyanne for sticking with me through the good, bad and horrible! My boy Miles for helping me train and everything else he has done. Thanks to my sponsor David Natividad and Dragoon Pro Gear, Team DPG! All my homies, Jacoby, Steven, Donovan, Johnboy, Andy, Chief, Eric, Justin, Garrett, Craig, Mikey, Josh, Jomo, and a whole lot more. Last but not least my biggest hero, my son Judah this kid has been through the ringer and still smiles, he definitely has a fighters heart don’t be surprised one day if he isn’t the champ!

