September 6th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Iman Barlow
Nickname – The Pretty Killer
Weight – 54kg (120 pounds)
Record – 84 wins 5 losses 3 draws
Team – Team Assassins

Where are you from ?
Melton Mowbray ( Leicester ) England.

How long have you been training ?
Since I was 2 and a half years old.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
My father owns a gym (Team Assassins) and my mother used to fight so it started from there.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
My nickname is ‘ pretty killer’ I was given it at 8 years old in Thailand by Jitti my Thai trainer ( Jittis Gym).

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I’ve been a fighter since I was 4 years old. I’ve never known anything different but over the last few years my love for it has grown. Travelling the world and fighting on huge stages it’s a dream!

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
Yes my dad is my coach my mother also used to fight and my brother is my training partner who also fights. My friends love it and are so supportive they come to watch me fight when they can.

What is your current record ?
100 junior fights professional is 92 fights 84 W 5 L 3D.

What is your favorite strike ?
Body kick.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I always struggle when I get asked this question. But then I thought it’s my father. He puts so much time and effort into me and his passion for the sport is unbelievable. So when I Fight I love to make him proud.

What team do you train with ?
Team assassins.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
It defines who I am. I am also a normal girl enjoys spending time with her friends , shopping and cinema. But when I tell people I fight they don’t believe it.

What weight do you fight at ?
54kg.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I think my power and my fitness.
I have big legs so my kicks are harder than they look and the power slows you down.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Muhammad Ali he is the greatest. Maybe I could get a few kicks on him before he knocks me out haha.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
When I was 14 I fought for the S1 world title vs denephar ( Thailand) it was a great fight and I won and from then I felt that I went up a gear and fought for my life as the opportunity was huge. Some people are surprised that my toughest fight isn’t one that was a loss but that’s the way it is.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I just dream about the win and also about entertaining the crowd. When you get a clean shot on your opponent and you hear the crowd it’s great! I Wouldn’t like to fight when the crowd is dead the buzz wouldn’t be there.

you are coming off a big win this past friday for Lion Fights can you tell us a little about the moments leading up to this fight ?
Yes my opponent was changed in the last week and Jeri stepped in on 4 days notice. I had never heard of her before but did a quick google seen she was world boxing champ. I was like oh no I hate boxers haha! I met her at weigh in she was lovely I thanked her for taking the fight as it allowed me to still fight. So I was grateful.

How did it feel making your debut in the states for Lion Fight ?
It was amazing. The respect the crowd gave me before and after was great I couldn’t believe it and everyone on social media seemed to be impressed so I’m so happy and can’t wait to come back to America !

Iman Barlow you just won the Lion Fight Super Bantamweight Women’s Title whats next for the Pretty Killer ?
So next I’m fighting on the Muay Thai Grand Prix in London at the 02 in 5 weeks and I have 2 fights in November one in my home town and one in Holland on Enfusion.

what holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents during a fight ?
I just keep hitting. The more I hit them the less chance they have to hit me haha.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
One of the greatest female fighters ever.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My family.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
Sanchai, Julie kitchen, Liam Harrison , Jordan Watson, Buakaw.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Muay Thai style.

What drives or motivates you ?
I’m motivated to win and to impress I want to constantly get better while at a high level. I want to do things in the ring people don’t witness in a normal fighter. This drives me to train hard. I’m always confident in myself going into the ring because I know there is no one who would have trained harder than me so why do they deserve to win.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I also have a full-time job, I am a teaching assistant and I love it.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would be fat.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I feel I’m never hyped up. I’m real chilled getting ready for a fight before I go in I’m yawning haha! I just know as long as my dad is there in my corner I am safe.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head at that moment ?
Let’s get this show on the road. As I walk through the doors I raise my hands and encourage the crowd to clap along. I love that part !

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Every fighter who steps in the ring I admire. Everyone gets in there for a different reason so I think every fighter is Great.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Spend time with friends. Cinema shopping playing cards scrabble.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I think it’s being current Enfusion and Lion Fight champion. The 2 biggest associations in the fighting game at the moment.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Muay Thai ?
Always being compared to men. Women don’t have many big opportunities. To be fair times are changing. Women are great technical fighters and we’re slowly catching up. We’re great and believe in ourselves.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Train hard be motivated and you will achieve the world.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
Still kicking ass. Just with a few more wrinkles.

What are your goals within the sport ?
To travel the world and inspire people along the way.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I’d like to thank my family who are so supportive with everything I do. My sponsor fairtex for the equipment and gold standard nutrition for the great food and never-ending support. And of course all the pretty killer fans there support keeps me driven.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

