September 7th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Jorina Baars
Nickname – JoJo
Weight – 65kg (145 pound)
Record – 41 wins 0 losses 3 draws
Team – Sports Art Den Helder

Where are you from ?
the Netherlands.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for 20 years.

How did you get in to Muay Thai ?
Since my first trip to Thailand.

Tell us about your nickname and how you got it ?
You remember the JoJo’s? My name is Jorina so JoJo was very easy for the kids from school to give me my name.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
When I started training I told my trainer I will be dutch champion.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Muay Thai?
Yes I did a lot of sports before kickboxing/Muay Thai they support me in everything I do.

What is your current record ?
41 win 3 draw 0 loss.

What is your favorite strike ?
Watch my video’s and fights ;).

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
When I was younger it was Lucia Rijker.

What team do you train with ?
Sports Art Den Helder.

What does being fighter mean to you ?
Train a lot give everything you’ve got. Winners never quit and quitters never win.

What weight do you fight at ?
65kg 145 pound.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I can change my game plan during the fight.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t know I fight everyone.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I think against Nong Thoom from Thailand.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I will win no matter what.

you are coming off a big win this past friday for Lion Fights can you tell us a little about the moments leading up to this fight ?
I trained 10 weeks for this fight. Did different training sessions. Strength and condition pads sparring.

you successfully defended your Lion Fight welterweight women’s Title this past Friday night whats next for you ?
I don’t know this was my last fight on my contract with Lion Fight. So I hope they give me a new contract.

What are your thoughts on your title defense and your opponent ?
It was a good fight also for the fans. She was tough.

what holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents during a fight ?
That’s different in every fight. I fight my own style.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
As a good technical fighter and still undefeated.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My trainers I have worked with the same coaches since I started.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport ?
I don’t know.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
all-round.

What drives or motivates you ?
I have a life quote ” winners never quit and quitters never win”

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I don’t know.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I go to my dads grave.

your backstage about to walk out your music hits what’s going through your head as you walk to the ring ?
It motivate me a lot !!! It gives me the focus that I need in the fight.

Who is your favourite fighter ?
Peter Aerts.

When you’re not training what do you like to do with your free time ?
Drive my motorbike.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Defeating Nong Thoom and Cris Cyborg.

What do you think the biggest challenges are for women in Muay Thai ?
Most of the women have to work next to training. That makes it harder to train hard and pick your rest.

What advice can you give to young female fighters ?
Follow your dreams!!

Where do you see women’s Muay Thai in the next 5-10 years ?
Hope it grow a lot and we get the respect what we need.

Where do you see yourself in the next 5 years ?
I don’t know.

What are your goals within the sport ?
Stay undefeated.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my family friends and fans. Also my sponsors !! Sherton Pps-security ProSupps and Fightshop.nl

And follow me on Instagram @jojorinab

