September 8th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Josh Parisian
Weight – Heavyweight
MMA Record – 3 wins 1 loss
Boxing Record – 2 wins 0 losses
Team – Scorpion Fighting Systems

 
Where are you from ?
I was born in Martinsburg, WV and moved to Escanaba, MI in the 2nd grade. I lived there for 13 years before moving to lower Michigan.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training consistently for 7 years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
A friend of mine, Jim Pryal, invited me to come hit some mitts and learn Jiu jitsu. Due to an abusive childhood, I had low self-esteem, but MMA gave me the confidence I’ve always wanted for myself.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
Real names; no gimmicks

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter?
After I had won my first fight, I knew that this was something I wanted for myself. My reasons for fighting have changed over the years, but initially, it just felt awesome to be good at something.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
Initially, I feel as though they thought it was just something crazy that I was trying and poked fun, but I think the support really changed when they had seen how hard I worked at it.

What is your current record ?
I am currently 3-1 in Professional MMA and 2-0 in Pro Boxing.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
My favorite strike would have to be the spinning back fist and my favorite submission is the Peruvian Neck Tie.

What team do you train with ?
Scorpion Fighting Systems.

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I do have my purple belt in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, but I enjoy striking from my feet significantly more.

What weight do you fight at ?
Heavyweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I believe one thing that greatly separates me from my division is my mental toughness and my ability to take large amounts of damage

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I don’t have a specific person I want to fight, I want to fight anyone and everyone that it takes to get to the top

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
That no matter what happens, I’m not going to quit.

Who are you fighting next ?
Bellator vet, Josh Burns.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
I guess fans will have to come to the show to see!

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Total warrior combat.

Date and time of your next fight ?
November 12th, Lansing, MI. Fights usually start about 7pm.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
I want to be the heavyweight to MMA, that Tyson was to boxing.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
What we do in life, echoes for eternity.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
Probably my first belt fight. I fought John Kish, I was being beaten badly, but stayed in the fight and managed to win.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
James Gray, he has a special gift of unlocking people’s true potential, by helping them find the belief in themselves.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I would describe my fighting style to be a lot of over hands, spinning stuff, and always being in a position to keep firing off strikes.

What drives or motivates you ?
Creating a legacy for myself that is remembered long after death.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I cried during Titanic when I saw it in theaters. I hate pastel colors, specially on plastic, and I’m terrified of deep water.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I am a nerd at heart. I love video games, RPG’s specifically. I played 9 years of World of Warcraft and I also enjoy playing Diablo.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Don’t worry about money at the start, worry about exposure. Think of yourself as a fighter, as a business.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would probably still be stuck in a small town, have a degree I can’t use, and playing a lot more video games.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I eat half a banana and eat some tums.
I walk around the venue by myself, do some light jogging, followed up with sprints and other various work outs to get my first wind out.
I tell my coach that my body feels weird, he reminds me it’s normal
I do some light mitts then work into some harder mitts.
Then it’s all mental from there.

 

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
I believe that the sport will continue to grow, promotions will grow larger and rival the UFC, creating better fighter pay.
I believe that sword fighting will be the next big thing though.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
I will have hoped to achieve all that I had set out to do, then build my dream house near my hometown, and open up an MMA gym.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Increased fighter pay.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Dominick Cruz.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank everyone that continues to support and believe in me and my gear sponsor, Hayabusa!

