September 13th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Serginio Kanters
Nickname – The Sugar Man
Weight – 72.5kg (159 pounds)
Record – 45 wins 5 losses with 25 Knock outs
Team – FFC/Pancration

Where are you from ?
I am from The Netherlands, i was born and raised here.

How long have you been training ?
I have been training for about 10-12 years now. 10 years ago, I fought my first Jr fight.

How did you get in to Kickboxing ?
My stepfather was a professional Kickboxer and MMA fighter back then, as I looked up to him, I wanted to be a Kickboxer as well.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My current nickname, The Sugar Man is one I got from Vinny Shoreman. Since he thought I represented Shane Mosley.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
Since the first day I started training, I liked the sport. But I think I was about 16-17 years old when I knew I wanted to become the best fighter ever.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Kickboxing ?
Well, my family got me into the world of Kickboxing, sort of. And now that I have to live the life of a professional fighter, my family is very supportive to me.

What is your current record ?
50 fights 45 wins 5 losses 25 KO’s

What is your favorite strike ?
I used to say my left hook, but that is not true. I like every strike I got, as long as it hurts my opponent.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I am a fan of Tyrone Spong, he’s a big inspiration to me.

What team do you train with ?
I am training under Lucien Carbin, at FFC/Pancration.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Being a fighter means that you will give everything you got, to reach your goal(s).

What weight do you fight at ?
Right now, I fight at the 72.5kg divison, but I have fought at 75kg in the past.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
I am more powerful and more explosive than most fighters in my weight class.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Nieky Holzken.

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
I think my fight with Andrei Ostrovanu, that was a really strong guy.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I’m always going for the kill, I want to hurt my opponent.

Who are you fighting next ?
I am fighting Nordin Ben Moh next.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in their game that you can exploit ?
A lot. But if I expose them here, he will definitely work on it.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
I am mostly fighting for Enfusion.

Date and time of your next fight ?
17th of September 2016, make sure you tune in on the livestream at enfusionlive.com

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
As the best and most dangerous fighter ever.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
‘Everybody has got a gameplan, until he’s punched in the mouth.’ – Mike Tyson.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
A Victory over Muay Thai Legend Saiyok Pumpanguang.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
Umm.. I think my mum and uncle.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
I think Tyrone Spong, he has ruled almost every weight class there is. He ‘s a Champion in 7 different weight classes.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Aggressive, always pushing forward. Keeping my opponent under pressure at all times.

What drives or motivates you ?
Multiple things, my family struggling motivates me to become a champ for a better and easier life for them. Some upcoming clown talking big motivates me to shut their mouth as well.

What is something people might not know about you ?
People might not know that up until now, I was doing this just for fun. That im still going to school. When my school is finished next year, I can focus entirely on fighting. The Kickboxing world should watch out for when that day comes.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Like I said, im still going to school. I don’t have a lot of spare time. When I am not training im in School, and when im not in school im training.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Train hard, go for your goal. But finish your school, the world of fighting is a hard one.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I would have finished my school earlier as I would have had no distractions and I would be visiting a University right now.

What gets you hyped up for a fight ?
Watching some Dragonball Z Tribute videos (AMV’s), that stuff gets you hyped up pretty good.

do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I pray.

Where do you see the sport of Kickboxing in 5 years ?
I hope kickboxing will rise up in the next 5 years, back to how it used to be in the K-1 era.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
In 5 years I see myself at the top-tier of Kickboxing and Boxing in the USA.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my family and team for all the support and want to give a big shout out to vechtsportonline.nl for the best fight gear.

Photo Credit – Jos Erkens

To stay up to date with all the late breaking news From Enfusion Click the link below

www.enfusionlive.com

enfusion

