September 15th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Sheena Widdershoven
Nickname – Masheena
Weight – 65-67kg (143-147 pounds)
Record – 20 wins 5 losses 6 knockouts
Team – Hoyers Gym / Siam Gym

Where are you from ?
I am from Heerlen The Netherlands.

How long have you been training ?
I have trained 7 years now, I was 19 years old when I started.

How did you get in to Kickboxing ?
When I was younger i started boxing for a school project I really liked it the trainer told me that i had the feeling for it I was interested but not enough to carry on. After a few years i really wanted to train in something and wanted to be fit i was motivated to do something. Kickboxing got my interest so I tried it and from the first moment I was in love with this sport  I never left and it became my life.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
My nickname is Masheena, a guy from the gym said I was like a machine I Always was first at training and last to leave.He said Masheena! and from that day forward the people at the gym called me Masheena.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
When I woke up the first thing in my mind was training before sleep the last thing was also training, it changed my life i really wanted to learn everything about it. To fight was a dream Just 1 fight I wanted for the feeling  after 10 months they told me you can have a fight if you want. I didn’t sleep for a month I think I was so nervous haha but this is what I wanted and i took the fight. I won and there started my addiction it was the best feeling in the world!

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of Kickboxing ?
yes.

What is your current record ?
25 fights 20 wins ( 6 KO) 5 losses.

What is your favorite strike ?
k1.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
I don’t have a specific person.

What team do you train with ?
Hoyers gym and now just a few months I also train at Siam Gym.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Everyday learning, discipline, fun , hard work and dedication. Becoming a fighter was the best decision ever. It gave me so much strength and gave me a lot of lessons in my normal life I think im more powerful because of the fighting, If i want something i go for it and don’t give up , I know because of fighting what it is to work hard for what you want. I begun to know a lot of people who became my friends and family. some things like going to Thailand on my own i would never have done without this sport. Of course it is not Always so beautiful but still its the best thing in my life.

What weight do you fight at?
65-67 kg.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
These question I find really hard to answer because everybody is different and everybody will say they train hard an it is their life so i don’t know i am just me and i do what i love.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
I fight the next week so for me the only dream at this moment is to defend my Enfusion world title and still will be the world champion .

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
last year it wasnt so good , the fighting, I had over trained and really doubted it. I missed the fire and still trained but not with the same passion I always had. In April I had a tournament and I saw it as a change I needed to take .I faced Anissa Haddaoui in the semi finals and lost on points . I don’t know what happened in that fight, only that I did not feel strong before I stepped into the ring I already was thinking that I was glad it was almost over and then i could go rest and do nothing. I do not want to say that I will beat her when I was fit but at that moment I was my own opponent. she is a great fighter and I think she was my toughest opponent.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
I know I Always give 1000% preparation and that is what i hold in my mind that i need to give everything , i have trained for weeks for the win so that moment when i step into the ring i need to take it .

Who are you fighting next ?
Najat Hasnouni-Alaoui from Morocco.

what holes or weaknesses do you see in her game that you can exploit ?
I just have to stick to my own Plan then the weaknesses will come naturally.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
Enfusion.
Date and time of your next fight ?
17th of September Antwerp Belgium Live show for Enfusion.

What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
That I chased and achieved my dreams and enjoyed my career.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
I don’t have a specific, there are a lot like on instagram everyday I see quotes that motivates me.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
The Enfusion World Title -67kg.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My trainers, Enfusion and most of all myself.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
people like Muhammad Ali , also when you’re not into the fight life and you say kick/boxing people will say his name most of the time.

How would you describe your fighting style ?
I fight with distance boxing and kicks; k-1 no Muay Thai.

What is something people might not know about you ?
uh… I don’t think people know that beside fighting i also work in Healthcare, if i tell people they are surprised.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
Food haha , I like to hangout with friends, Shopping, Parties, movies.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Go for it, give everything you have and most important enjoy it!!!!!

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
I can’t Imagine i always need a goal in my life so maybe i would do another sport ?!

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
Music!

Where do you see the sport of Kickboxing in 5 years ?
I think and hope it will be bigger and people will be more interested in it, Enfusion is becoming bigger and bigger so i think we can thank them that they promote the sport so well and hope that the kickboxing will get the good publicity it has earned.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
If I look back i see a lot can happen in 5 years so i really don’t know, i am almost sure i will still train…

What do you think can change moving forward to make Kickboxing better as a sport ?
I think kickboxing also deserve to be an olympic sport and more publicity so people can see for themselves how great it is, it’s not just fighting it’s so much more with so many athletes who do it with their whole heart.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
I don’t have a specific Fighter, there are some woman fighters who inspire me of course but i can enjoy a junior fight match also as much as an A class fight.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
I want to thank my sponsors who made it trough the years a bit easier for me and show there support ; Booster Fight gear, Stacker Europe, Befit , La plaza Hoensbroek. the people who have my back also support me and trainers/ training mates because without them i would be nothing. And Enfusion For the great opportunities!

Photo Credit – Nebras Alkisaei Photography

Enfusion Live can be viewed on the Video on demand platform at  www.enfusionlive.com enfusion

