September 19th 2016

Fighter Profile
Name – Matthew Andrikut
Nickname – Kut
Record – 2 wins 1 loss
Weight – Light Heavyweight
Team – Reno Academy of Combat

Where are you from ?
Middletown, New York.

How long have you been training ?
10 Years.

How did you get in to MMA ?
A friend of mine from New York had a fight in Delaware and offered me a fight at 195 lbs. I won by first round knockout and had no real training in striking at the time.

Tell us about your nickname how you got it ?
I was given a nickname “Beast from the North” – I guess it sounded cool to whoever wrote the article for that particular fight. I prefer “Kut” which is my real nickname and I am sure you can figure out where that comes from.

What was the defining moment for you when you knew you wanted to become a fighter ?
I knew I could only go so far being an NCAA wrestler I did not get to where I wanted to in the sport of wrestling. I was still hungry for competition so I got into MMA.

Were your family and friends supportive when you decided to enter the world of MMA ?
My family was and still is very supportive.

What is your current record ?
2-1.

What is your favorite strike or submission ?
the one that lands.

Who is your biggest inspiration ?
Jesus Christ.

What team do you train with ?
I train with a few different teams…as of late – I have been training Out of Reno Academy of Combat

Do you like to stand with your opponent or take the fight to the ground ?
I like both…no real preference.

What does being a fighter mean to you ?
Whether it’s in a cage or outside of a cage it means a lot. I like the mentality of fighting a lot more than the physical aspects.

What weight do you fight at ?
Light Heavyweight.

what do you think separates you from other fighters In your division ?
Only time will tell.

If you could have one dream fight who would it be against ?
Tito Ortiz – I am a fan and I think he’s getting older now so who knows?

Who has been your toughest fight to date ?
Jesse Boogyman…I was injured during the fight and I do not pull out of fights. I took the fight and fought pretty horribly but found a way to get the win.

What is your mindset going in to a fight ?
Clear.

what holes or weaknesses do you look for in your opponents game that you can exploit
Time will tell.

What promotion are you fighting for ?
New England Fights.
What do you want to be remembered for at the end of your career ?
For being unpredictable.

What is your favorite quote or motto ?
Suffer the pain of discipline, or suffer the pain of regret.

What has been your biggest accomplishment in the sport so far ?
I guess beating Pat Walsh in my amateur career. He went on to fight in the UFC.

Who has been most influential to you in your career ?
My coaches and teammates.

Who do you feel has had the biggest impact on the sport and why ?
Dana White…do I need to explain?

How would you describe your fighting style ?
Methodical in a funky way.

What drives or motivates you ?
After the fight I get to eat fast food.

What is something people might not know about you ?
I’m a nice guy.

When you are not in the gym training what do you like to do in your free time ?
I’m a huge Horror movie and music fan. I love doing and/or watching scary stuff. I really enjoy going to concerts and/or festivals.

What advice can you give to young fighters and those who want to become fighters ?
Get away from people who don’t believe in you or are negative. Surround yourself with good and positive people.

What do you think you would be doing if you hadn’t become a fighter ?
Playing Call of Duty:Zombies and Madden all day.

What gets you hyped up for a fight do you have any pre fight rituals that get you ready to go to battle ?
I don’t get hyped for fights or have any pre fight rituals. It’s just another day for me.

Where do you see the sport of MMA in 5 years ?
Celebrating my 5 year anniversary of this MMA interview.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years ?
Just want to be happy and healthy.

What do you think can change moving forward to make MMA better as a sport ?
Keep bringing in entertaining fighters. I think the sport is heading in the right direction.

Who is your favorite fighter ?
Fedor.

Is there anyone you want to thank or give a shout out to ?
My Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, My family, my wife, my friends, my coaches of the last and present, and my training partners.

wp-1474299139199.jpg

